Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

animal islands

by geckojsc - Jam Entry

animal islands is a game of choice and luck.

Don't let any animals die!

Each turn presents you with a choice of two additions to the world, but the location is secret. Some of them are dangerous, and most animals don't get along very well. Keeping them alive will be a challenge!

e - enable easy mode, where the location of the next block is revealed.
f - toggle fullscreen

Arrow keys can be used instead of the mouse, if desired.


Thanks to Brian, Priya, Andrew, bug, asterick, ftsf and anybody else who chatted and gave me feedback during the 3 days I worked on this :)

--
update 15 december 2015
Minor bug fix - burning trees should now extinguish properly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Innovation(Jam)3.95
#68Overall(Jam)3.95
#77Mood(Jam)3.95
#82Audio(Jam)3.95
#100Theme(Jam)4.19
#146Graphics(Jam)4.14
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37am

A deceptively cute game. I liked it.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

I love it. Cute art and fun, if a little on the hard side. I really like the abstractness of floating islands hovering and swaying in the breeze. My favorite thing is how after every move the percussion fills that get longer and more complex. Good little game!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20pm

very cute animals, interesting puzzle, i would like to play full game)

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Really like it, feels unique and the style and sounds match well. Would have liked it to go on longer so that I can attempt to have as many animals as possible which would trigger each other in different ways, if one dies that should be fine.

Sort of strategy/zen garden kind of game, I like!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Interseting concept, playing agenst yourself kinda :3

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:11pm

This is really fantastic, unique, and beautifully presented. I think the game is actually more interesting in "easy" mode -- too often in "hard' mode, I felt like I had to just flip a coin, whereas in "easy" mode I could sometimes be more strategic.

It seems like many of the options the player are gets are trivial -- one should always pick safe terrain over an animal or a dangerous terrain, right? Maybe the choices should always be between 2 tiles of the same type.

I hope you keep expanding this game!

Dreyan says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Really cute, interesting puzzle game ^^ There does seem to be more strategy involved in the easy mode, as with the regular one, while there is still a bit of strategy, some decisions end up feeling completely random.

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:26am

Feels like I'm playing Snake and Ladders: a game about leaving everything to fate. The presentation is excellent, but the luck-based gameplay leaves a lot to be desired.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:44am

Pro:
+ Very interesting concept
+ Great mechanics
+ Graphics and sounds are nice
Con:
- I feel that it could be more strategic. Choices are pretty trivial to ensure survival. Easy mode is great because you can think about the impact the choice.

Great work!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:56am

I feel like I could play this all day. Very cute and soothing game. I love how the melody evolves the further you keep playing. The randomness of the new tile types and their placement sometimes feel a little too punishing. It seems like you applied some sort of pixel anti-aliasing for the resolution of the game, which was a bit hard and the eye, I feel we would have appreciated the minimalistic graphcis better if there wasn't any. Some animals/tiles interactions sometimes felt a little too abstract.

Definitely my coup de coeur for this Ludum Dare. Good job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:58am

Cute graphics and well-matching sounds. Really enjoyed how the soundscape gets added through time. I felt that the randomness of the tile placement left me with little control over the outcome and overall strategy of the game. Great take on the theme of the jam!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Well, this game is just damn too good, it took the 2 button control theme and the growing theme together and spiced it with awesome randomly generated fun.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Can;t say anything bad about this, and I think I shouldn't. Very good and fun to play game!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Absolutely enjoyed it. It's a shame that it's partially based on luck, but otherwise it is one of the most relaxing games I have seen in this jam. The cute artstyle as well as the dynamic soundtrack also helps a lot to set the mood, great game!

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Cute! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]