Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dizzy Skies

by ploy - Jam Entry

Unfinished Flight Sim :)
Controls: 2 mouse buttons + cursor position (Y-AXIS).

*RMB to accelerate (if not pressed - slomo activates)
**Left Mouse Button to fire (green indicator means overheating and prevents from bullet spam)
***The plane rotates by cursor position using Y-AXIS

Acually I wanted to create epic battle versus A GIANT (and still continues to grow) HUMSTER, but 3 days isn't enough :(
So, unfortunately, in this version only waves of rival planes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74
#835Theme(Jam)3.24
#917Graphics(Jam)2.47
#969Mood(Jam)2.31
#977Fun(Jam)2.48
#1073Overall(Jam)2.47

Comments

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Very interesting. Could have been great if finished.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

cool concept!! got a little dizzy after playing for some time though! lol

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35pm

This is such a cool concept. Nice job dude :D

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Hm-m, an attack angle control using mouse looks awkward as for me. Interesting idea, btw.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:41am

It was fun to play. The controls are difficult to grab in the beginning but after a while you get the idea.

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

the control alittle bit hard to use, and i got quite dizzy after a while spinning around
but overall good game :)

intchanter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Interesting, dizzying, and challenging.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11pm

The plane is a bit "rough" to handle, but it's really funny, it's a nice concept and a good challenge. After some minutes of meddling with it, you can do some pretty nice tricks to destroy enemies. Nice job :)

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I tried to play this but it comes up with some error about running from file://// not working until you upload for security reasons. I tried Im sorry!

dusho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:32pm

made me dizzy.. :)

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39pm

it's really control hell on touch pad. But i do like planes a lot =)

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Cool idea! I got kind of disoriented because of how the plane rotated. I think that a still background and rotating plane would have been better. Good job!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice job, keep it up!

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice ideas here, but, personally, I don't like the controls. And in my opinion, there should be at least sound effects. You might not have completed it for ludum dare, but I think it can be a good game when finished.

tc4mpbell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Yikes, I'm remarkably bad at these controls :D. Cool concept, though!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very difficult to handle but it is a good idea ! (the map is too small too)

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Controls were a bit hard to 'feel', and I did not seem to have more maneuverability than my opponents - this makes pulling moves on them a bit difficult.

Potential improvements: Shoot more bullets & shoot them faster. Be faster / more agile than your opponents. Add some 'speed' visualization. Perhaps a trail line.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Interesting idea, but im not sure the controls really work. I did get dizzy though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]