Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Everything Building

by Kepab - Jam Entry

The Everything Building
Elevator Operator’s Manual

We are delighted to welcome you to the team as our newest elevator operator. You will be expected to serve the vertical mobility needs of some very busy and important people (and animals). We expect you to convey them to their desired floor with speed, efficiency and a smile.

To go up - press arrow up
To go down - press arrow down

If successful, you will be rewarded with generous tips. But keep the line moving, or it’s all over for you.

Now get to work!

Sincerely,
The Management

---

Game Rules:
* Take numbered customers to their respective destination floor to receive coins
* Customers appear on floors: avoid overcrowding a floor by transporting customers before they fill any floor entirely
* Combo: More people arriving on the same floor at the same time means more coins
* Size: The customers come in three sizes (small, medium, large) and the elevator can hold three small, one small and one medium or a single large customer at a time.
* Many customers have their own properties and behaviours: learn and master their quirkiness to score as much as you can before any floors overcrowd!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.41
Overall(Jam)4.48
Coolness52%
#14Humor(Jam)4.28
#22Audio(Jam)4.24
#23Theme(Jam)4.41
#41Innovation(Jam)4.03
#49Mood(Jam)4.11
#90Graphics(Jam)4.34

Comments

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Great job! It is very fun to play, looks nice, solid and polished, and even well balanced.

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Very fun to play! Loved the music, this could be great on smartphones!

LeekAnarchism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Hey, you made the same game as me, but yours is way better! :)

This is a really well-made game -- the learning curve and introduction of new ideas was well-balanced, the graphics are cute and the music's cool too.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:53am

This is fantastic -- utterly charming, fun, and frankly addicting. Great art, great music and effects, and nice elegant gameplay. It seemed to take a really long time for the difficulty/tension to build up, but that's something that be tweaked with playtesting over the course of more than 72 hours! Awesome job!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The game is simply delicious, stuck for a long time.I am waiting for output to mobile. Excellent work.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:54pm

BEST Arcade game...+1 for the game... wow this is so nicely build and full of polishing... I could play this for hpurs ... +1 for putting it to my favlist in chrome... well done !!!!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Excellent. Super fun, just right difficulty which is tough to pin down in a jam.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Loved it, graphics and music were great. Fun to play as well, good job :)

Skaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:34pm

A truly excellent entry. I really had fun! So overwhelming when it gets crowed :p Congrats!

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16pm

amazing, loved the every little bit! one of my favorites.

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:22pm

One of my favorites so far. Man, that music! Just soooo good. Great concept, executed well. Was a pleasure to play.

issa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Great game. I was looking for other elevator games and this one was the best.

hexagore says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Really enjoyed this. Ending up having quite a few goes at it, too. Simple mechanic to pick up, very difficult to master. Great art, great audio... brilliant game :)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:46pm

What a cool gameplay!
Congrats for your entry!

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Excellent game! 5/5

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I loved it! I really really liked it. Fun, simple and challenging.

g12345 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:25pm

That was a pretty fun game. At least, until those hearts and music people showed up. When they showed up irregularly that's basically where the game ends. But until then, it was a pretty fun game.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:56am

Wow, this is my favorite game so far. Excellent arcade-style game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Really fun game, lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:02pm

This game just did everything perfectly. Amazing job. I love love love the interactions between characters and the characters that cause different status effects on the elevator. The feel is spot on and the music and sounds fit the game perfectly. Great work, please continue on this game and release a paid version. I will be your first sale.

Ellian says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:25am

Wow! Super simple, but amazingly fun.
Love the special characters, it's great. Amazing job!

Slothmachine says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 10:42pm

I love it. Sounds and little pixel people are so charming. Game feels challenging and polished. And suddenly Kimmo <3

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 2:37pm

This game is great and very addicting!
If there is a next version, can you add some touchscreen controls so people can play it on their phone? Consider making it an app.

Hectigo says ...
Jan 7, 2016 @ 12:08am

One of the devs here, we can't believe how hugely positive the reception of the game has been, even if we had a feeling that it's pretty good. We already have lots of plans for making the gameplay even more varied in a future expanded release, and a little bit of work has already gone towards polishing it! Hopefully we can eventually release a fully fleshed out version across as many platforms as possible.

ethankennerly says ...
Jan 9, 2016 @ 9:48pm

You made many interesting travelers. When I matched brides or musicians, I felt clever. When I saw the ambulance stretcher I felt a rush. It was a bonus that I was able to play on my iPhone in Safari. If you continue to develop this, and I hope you do, on iPhone Safari, when I tap the elevator shaft above or below the elevator, sometimes the elevator went in a different direction. I didn't have a magnet-reversing passenger at the time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]