Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Stones

by lebrokholic - Jam Entry

"Super Stones" is an exciting isometric arcade game in which the player controls one of the various amusing stones, collects and activates different bonuses, and tries to avoid enemies and obstacles on the path.

There are two major buttons: left and right halves of the screen in order to rotate in a counter-clockwise and clockwise directions, respectively.

I hope, you'll be kin on the game I've developed with love and cookies :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#568Fun(Jam)3.10
#580Graphics(Jam)3.32
#585Humor(Jam)2.54
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#840Theme(Jam)3.23

Comments

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Wow! Amazing! This is probably my favorite LD 34 entry so far. I could see myself playing this one just for fun in the future. Very creative, loved the music as well.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Nice music. Graphics were a bit too small, but the "moving ground" effect looked nice. Pretty fun reimagining of the tron lightbikes.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11am

I actually didn't think I would enjoy it as much as I did!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

I really like the graphics. Also, cool that you made an android game :)

sirono says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30am

The Graphic effect is good

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39am

Loved the game. Very nice graphics and solid gameplay.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

Couldn't launch. On Google Play, I click Install and it Errors with: "You haven't accessed the Google Play Store app (the white shopping bag icon) on your device with this email account."

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56am

This is so ridiculously polished, so great job on that. The visuals are so cohesive and extremely well done, the effect of scrolling with the land coming up/going away was very impressive. You guys did a great job of setting a small scope and nailing down a simple core mechanic. Overall, this is a great, really polished entry. I am terrible at it, I wasn't able to get 1,000 let alone 25,000 to unlock a character! If I had to come up with a single improvement, I think it would just be that there isn't much variety in the gameplay, there isn't much to keep someone playing over and over. Adding in some modifiers like areas to avoid could help this. As well as that, the controls can be a bit over sensitive, so it is a bit difficult to control yourself (although that is probably intended). Overall, an extremely clean and impressive game, you guys can be extremely proud of yourselves.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05am

ugh I am lazy and don't want to install something on google play :S

lebrokholic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29am

@retrogradeorbit, hope this can help you: https://support.google.com/googleplay/answer/6178908?hl=en

@Bumblepie, actually, it's 2500, not 25000 :D

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02am

I really enjoyed this game.
Well polished and I can see why it is already on the play store.
Amazing job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Looks intresting, but where is iOS version?)

lebrokholic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

@Monochrome Bears, the iOS version will be as soon as possible.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Played the android version, nice job !

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Amazing game! Graphics looks very good!

peyj says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:02am

A very complete game for 72 hours, especially the visuals seem pretty polished, the 3d-chunk-fade-in-and-out-effect was really neat. The game was a good take on the tron/curve genre and has a bunch of features, but still: I did not get a lot of good action moments while I played, I think a confined space/more speed/more enemies/bigger trails or something like that might have been better to keep the player engaged.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36pm

This game seems original, and the graphics effects are very cool, Good work!!

NecroMac says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:18am

It is not my type of game but it is well polished and nice looking.

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:42pm

This game shows promise and is quite polished. That being said one thing that hindred my enjoyment was that there is no turn acceleration/deceleration, thus making it hard to turn just a little bit and that's a big problem with a game where you want to sqeeze between rocks.

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Awesome design and audio. enjoyed playing it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]