Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Carp'e Diem!

by Archonthewizard - Jam Entry

**For the web version you can right click to go into full screen. Otherwise, use "space bar" instead of "right-click" to shoot. Use the link below if the embedded version gives you any trouble! It should work in Firefox.

Carp'e Diem is about a little carp who takes on bigger fish by growing his school of friends and learning the power of friendship... or something!

I mostly followed the "Growing" theme. You grow a school a fish large enough to take on even the biggest fish in the sea. I also tipped my hat to the 2-button theme, by only using 2 buttons (not including mouse movement).

All the art and audio assets were bought or open-source. I worked alone in Unity doing the programming and design myself.

I tried my best to make the game self-explanatory so you don't have to read several paragraphs before playing... so much for that idea, eh?

A special thanks to everyone in Twitch who watched my stream the entire Jam. Your feedback and playtesting was invaluable!

Thanks!
I hope you enjoy my game =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#72Fun(Jam)3.87
#105Mood(Jam)3.87
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#186Theme(Jam)4.06
#432Humor(Jam)2.78

Comments

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

This is so strange and fun! I love it!

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Nice idea. Very realxing ;)

Wandermayer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

relaxing and layed back controlls and mood! Great use of theme and growing school!

web player had error: fatal content error has been detected.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

What a nice relaxing game. Great idea, really interesting, the graphics are wow :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

This was a really pleasant experience, "ruined" not even in the slightest by my struggle to survive deep into the sea!

Sometimes the collisions may act a little "funny" but everything else is great, indeed: starting from the mood down to the actual gameplay.

Easy to learn, harder to master as you go (which is perfectly fine by me).

Even if you stated you bought\used "third party" assets, you did a great job in putting them to work in so few days. Congratulations!

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Wow. Just wow. When I first scrolled through the images for your game, I saw a coelacanth and immediately I was uh, well... hooked. I really, really love what you've done with this game. Carp'e Diem is simple to play, yet offers a good deal of strategy and a good sense of progression. Letting the player choose which fish to adopt into their armada and offering up new fish was a very good decision. Overall, this game felt really polished, and the visuals were stunning when considering the amount of time you had to complete them. My one caveat to the game is that clicking to reassemble your army felt a little unnecessary, as I ended up keeping the left mouse button down the entire time. Each enemy type also kept me on my toes and forced me to revise my strategy, and there were enough enemies and combinations of them to keep me entertained and the game feeling fresh. I genuinely enjoyed playing your game, and I want to congratulate you on a successful Ludum Dare. Best of luck in the judging round!

uvwar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

I was in love with the flocking (my first LD game is a flocking game as well, the reverse of this), but then you had to throw in my favorite fish ever as the final boss. A++

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Really great atmosphere. Control was pretty tight. Upgrade system added a lot. Great entry. Lots of fun!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46am

The most well rounded jam game I've seen yet, amazing work!

AriaMK says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:13am

This was simply beautiful. Wow! Pretty simple and fun too :)

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

I really enjoyed the game. The mood is solid, controls and movement of your fish-school are very satisfying, a lot of variations. Well done :)

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41am

Nice take on 2d shooters, might be interesting to find non-shooty uses for the fishies, so that they are not just a replacement for bullets. Overall very enjoyable!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52am

DJ Coelacanth and the fire fish made me laugh :D
Very immersive gameplay. Liked the sonic-like health system that makes the game more relaxing. Animations when you move are very nice (caught myself trying to make fishes swim and dance around the environment).

Great game overall :)

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18am

This is a really clever spin on this type of game. I really like it!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

The fish theme did nothing for me, but that's my only complaint here. The graphics were well pieced together from your sources and were nice to look at. The music was soothing, the special fish were varied and interesting in their own way, and the combat was fun. This was a perfect little chill and click game. Great job!

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39am

Somewhat lengthy middle part and what feels like a neglected one-time ammo idea, but otherwise all-round a very enjoyable experience!

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:32am

The main idea of the game was really innovative and a lot of fun! The only problem might be that the gameplay can get boring really fast since it is technically the same event repeating over and over again.

Nice work! Would love to see this with better graphics and more mechanics.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:42am

Amazing music and amazing atmosphere. Gives me warm fuzzy feelings thinking back to Aquatic Ambiance from Donkey Kong Country, with a bit of Pikmin thrown in for good measure. With a bit of polish this could become a full game. The graphics and sound are amazing and it's very fun!

The fish movement is slightly shakey, and I think it might be similar to a problem I had while developing my game. When I used a combo of mouse-based movement (screenpointto) and anticipated velocity for the camera, I had to set the rigidbody "Interpolate" setting to "Extrapolate." This got rid of the issue for the most part.


Overall, this is one of the best games. I was really glad to see you play my game on your show, and I'm really happy I had the chance to play your game too :) Thanks again! Good luck in the competition!

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Really well done - great use of different enemy types - good progression.

Awesome music and atmosphere. I feel like this would be a great game for kids (I mean that in the best possible way).

Bravo!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Really fun game! Would benefit from healthbars on the fish, in my opinion. Cause i ended up wasting a lot of fish, when enemy was 1 hit away from death. Fish and background props models are great. Music is good.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Underwater atmosphere is amazing, like this game

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48pm

very relaxing and original game *o*
good job ;)

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Best game ever

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

Very well done.

The only gripe I have at times is that the camera doesn't pan out far enough showing me things ahead of me (since that's the shooting direction).

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

As a wise man once said, "Very rewarding murdering fish"
A lot of fun, and perfect mood for the game.

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:05am

sweet game with beatifull graphics..the right mouse button gave me some options for fullscreen in stead of an action in the game in firefox, i used the spacebar.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:11am

I still don't know if I understand what makes the player loose fish, or what my reward fish do. I would send out fish to attack and my total number would reduce, as would the number of fish I "have" it took me a while to realize I could go touch the fish again to collect them, but the tiny fish from the beginning. I don't think I could ever get them back. Is there a way to select which fish you send?

I liked the underwater theme, and the music. I wasn't too challenging, and had a good flow.

Thank you for sharing your game.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Overall a beautiful game. I did have some issues finding the bigger fish sometimes which made it less fun. But overall the design was good and executed pretty well

Drury says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Amazing, I wonder why you didn't include audio category. The music is absolutely topnotch, especially boss music.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:55pm

That was a really nice game! You choose some great art assets! And the mechanics were also fun

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:14am

Relaxing yet extremely stressful! I can say with confidence that this is the longest I've played a Ludum Dare game. To be honest I almost gave up when the boss started spewing pufferfish-- those things are hard if you didn't get the speed upgrade. Overall this feels more like a finished console game than a jam game. I am ultra impressed with the gameplay-- the flocking, the variation of enemies... OMG what a good game.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Great job, if I had ocean sounds would be amazing!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:37am

Great game - enjoyed every level. Was a little easy, and some fish types (fire in particular) felt a little weak, but that's all I've really got; this game is very well made.

publicidadeba says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Strangely awesome! The water reminded me of Donkey underwater levels. Had a great time with it, You should totally finish it.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Pretty fun, the boss battle dragged on a bit too much though. I think the only problem with it really is that it seems to be impossible to lose, since you can only truly lose the one-shot fish.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]