Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jack Lumber vs The Aliens

by ryandali - Compo Entry

Jack Lumber and his trusty bottomless hatchet sack, must fight through the woods, escaping a relentless electric wall and battling aliens along the wall. An attempt at a strange 3D variant of an endless running.

Controls:
Mouse to aim and turn.
Left Mouse Button to throw hatchet.
Right Mouse Button to crouch/Stop.

Destroy aliens and targets with your hatchet to get a high score, be careful.. the alien's forces grow as you progress.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#386Audio2.84
#429Humor2.47
#564Graphics2.95
#571Innovation3.00
#673Overall3.00
#734Mood2.56
#776Theme3.30
#790Fun2.65
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

The camera is a little glitchy but the throwing feels satisfying.

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49am

Unfortunately, it crashes on launch for OSX.

"dyld: lazy symbol binding failed: Symbol not found: _mono_set_dirs"

deadread says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50am

The idea of having a "make your own rail shooter" is new to me, especially with the growing water gate behind the user. However, some clipping and aiming bugs have made the game tedious, and more often than not, frustrating. Good work :)

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

you need to make it a zip file

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Cool idea, nice use of the theme. A little bit of bugs, but still enjoyable :)

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

after first control problems... Nice game!

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Strange camera. Very simple. Good idea.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

Your windows folder is empty, dog

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16am

Cool use of the theme. Killing the aliens was quite satisfying :) Well done :)

cgriff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Camera control is a little difficult, but I like the cartoony look and you've done a good job with the throwing.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37pm

funny :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Very sensitive camera, mouse was not locked to window so very hard to play. Good concept and the throwing was very satisfying.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:27pm

The constant moving was an interesting feature, but very annoying though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]