Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Opcode-Powered Shuttle (working title)

by Guard13007 - Compo Entry

You have a shuttle with damaged controls, but you can still enter commands by typing in 3-bit opcodes manually. Use 1's and 0's to pilot your vessel.

NOTE: Incomplete. Originally you would start with the just the "sticky notes" in the bottom corners of the screen to tell you how to fly, and you could obtain other "modules" later to upgrade your interface, or style it how you want. Because I could not get the basics for that stuff working in time, you start with all functional modules enabled (which makes it easier to play).

TODO: Tutorial, an actual game, etc. These will all be done post-LD.

What works: Movement, targeting, warp.
What doesn't: Communication, scanning, weapons.

So basically, we have here a skeleton of a space exploration game. I will continue work on it post-LD, and publish updates on Itch.io (linked below).

Engine: LOVE
Tools used: Atom, Paint, GIMP, git, a scanner

Edit: Just noticed I didn't put a changelog for the 2 bugfixes I made:
v0.1.1: Fixed communication crashing the game.
v0.1.2: Fixed random radian generation being locked to 7 integer values (whoops!).

Anything past those versions are post-LD improvements.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#43Innovation4.04
#301Theme3.94
#480Humor2.36
#598Graphics2.89
#618Overall3.08
#717Fun2.81
#719Mood2.59

Comments

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Please submit bugs/crashes with screenshots to @Guard13007 on Twitter or the issue tracker at https://github.com/Guard13007/LD34/issues or here or anywhere else you can contact me! Thank you!

Email: GuardAlmostGames@gmail.com

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06am

What a clever idea! I'd love to see where this goes.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11am

Needs some work. It's hard to tell where you're going to go, or how you go there.
OP codes are an interesting idea though.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14am

hardcore! :) good luck with developing it further

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Quite an original idea, but it wan't very easy to learn. With some polish, this could be a very interesting game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03am

Too bad you couldn't develop this more (you should after the jam though!), it's a really cool idea.

Since there's not much content, there isn't much to say I suppose.
Some ambient-ish background music would be cool, like something sci fi sounding.

The idea is great, and what's really nice is you can actually learn what to input for the thing you want to do relatively quickly (like quickly tapping out 001 101 for example) without having to consult the command list eventually, so I think this idea is really workable after more gameplay is added.

It was still quite fun to experiment with flying around even though there wasn't much else to do. Keep it up!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I really liked the idea! The implementation is a little rough, and at first it is daunting to see all these things on the screen, but once you get the hang of it, it is quite fun! It feels like you are directing a real ship.

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17am

Wow really nice use of the theme, the artwork is cool, I like the picture, really cool, you got something here :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28pm

A very clever use of the theme. At first read the game sounds difficult, but your sticky notes and numbered displays make it reasonably understandable. A pity about the weapons not being implemented, this has potential!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Your approach to this was really cool! I love how the UI changes to help you navigate the menus. Good luck with the post-LD version. You definitely have a great concept that I think a lot of gamers could get into.

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Thank you for all the feedback! I'll be continuing development at a slower pace post Ludum Dare, but right now I'm a bit busy with other projects.

Can't wait to turn this into something more. :D

Karai17 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03am

Having a very difficult time figuring out exactly what to do here...

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

josefnpat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:56am

I love the concept. It would have been nice if the UX was a bit better; I was able to figure out how to do things, but it was rather confusing. Awesome idea regardless!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:50am

Very interesting and original control setup, I did run into a few bugs along the way but I really enjoyed it overall. I know it would break with the 2 control theme, but I would like to see a future version of the game with a few more keys being used to implement additional controls or menus. Nice job!

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:06pm

I'd love to see where this goes -- I saw your post and was immediately interested in the game, I think the idea is great (perfect for the theme) and your implementation so far is awesome. I particularly like the menus updating to reflect the effect each added 1/0 will have.

laaph says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:39pm

A pity you didn't finish, I would love to see this finished up a bit more!

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:15am

It's very innovation for me! And very-very difficult! I think a little tutorial make it better.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:47am

takes some time to manage it but it makes fun to explore. nice entry!

BMacIntosh says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Nice UI.

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I really like the idea this game has potential

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:57pm

It was a bit hard to figure out what different actions did, i flew off away from everything by accident o_o

ac7 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:04am

It's awesome to see a game with this control system! I've thought about doing something similar for a long time, but with submarines instead of spaceships. Thanks for sharing!

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:08am

Obviously needs more to do, but it was still interesting despite the lack of content. The controls worked well, though I felt that changing speed would be better if you simply selected a percentage of max instead of making it go slower/faster or go max speed or stop.

In the end, while this didn't have much, I still liked it. You made what you could, and it was well done.

Os_Reboot says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:17am

Fun game, slightly confusing at first. Nice aesthetics! Sound could use a little work, but awesome entry overall.

BloodJohn says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:55am

It is extremely confusing for me :(

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:47am

Cool idea, I like the binary use of the theme. The game become controlable with a bit of practice and remembering the sequence. Keep up the good work

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Thank you all again for the continuing feedback. I haven't been able to work on it much more post-LD, but I definitely will.

Right now my top priority is figuring out the communication system. Then, I will start adding some content and changing a few things based on feedback. Eventually, I will add more control methods (because while two buttons is great for the LD theme, it really hampers this).

@LukeZaz, thanks for the idea of throttle control based on percents. I'm thinking of changing stop/slower/faster/max to 0%/20%/60%/100%. Maybe I'll make it optional/changeable in game. Not sure. You also made my realize I want a display on screen of current throttle. Thanks!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Cool entry, love the binary stuff. The handwritten notes were great too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]