Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

for the trees

by omaha - Compo Entry

===============================================================================


A game about a forest. Nurture your seeds and help them grow up big and strong.

WASD/Arrows - to move
Space - to jump
Mouse - to aim
Left Mouse Button - to fire


===============================================================================


I intended to make a game with big guns and explosions and lots of killing stuff, but something (someone) pulled me in a new direction.

#gamedevdad


===============================================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.65
#20Audio4.11
#42Graphics4.33
#59Overall3.95
#95Theme4.19
#271Innovation3.48
#492Fun3.14
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

Ditto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I loved this! Really really calming, makes me wish I could go a similar route with my own game instead of forcing a bunch of hectic input and stuff, lol, thanks for making it!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Excellent! Relaxing and the art was incredible. Simple but powerful. Great job.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

This was lovely. Really good audio/visual design -- the soft billowing tree foliage and the woody kalimba notes when you grow a tree is really great. The only thing I would suggest is the player's walking speed seems a bit too fast, considering everything else about the game encourages patience and calmness. Nitpicking, I know.

I really loved this game. One of my favorites I've played so far.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I was going for large aesthetic forest and then it went puff
nice one..

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08am

Love sprinkling water around. Nice presentation.

Dayko says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Great atmosphere, very heartwarming :) Well done !

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Quite fun, nice sounds, was pretty. I would have liked a slower player (I don't say that much), and the watering sound detracted from all the others. Really nice anyway.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Very pretty game, really like the mood of it, the art style and sounds work really well.

the31 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

Nice little game. I've gotta agree about the movement, though: having the player move faster than anything else on the screen has a weird feeling in an otherwise ambient, relaxing game.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:02am

Thanks everyone!

I definitely see where you're coming from regarding the movement speed. I fear my original plans to make an action game bled into my later attempts to make something peaceful.

I tend to make the same mistake in every LD: I don't turn all my systems into an actual *game* until late in the weekend, leaving very little time to balance and correct the finer details. I will try to remember this the next time around.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:31am

Great job :) I'm really impressed with the graphics and style you pulled off in this, and the audio fits perfectly, and the ending is really special!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice look!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Very awesome aesthetic! I love that it's a relaxing and passive experience, but the controls still feel really nice to play with. The way the trees grow and start to bloom colors is very mysterious and satisfying. Glad I played to the end. Very emotionally effective game.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

This was really cool! i loved the art of the trees, and even the colors of the water particles. really cool!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:05am

Relaxing and great mood. 5/5 for Innovation, Mood, Theme and Audio! Well done!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice little game for relax! I twisted his hand in a circle)) at the end "for Eleanor" :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]