Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

There's No Going Back

by MicroMacro - Compo Entry

There's No Going Back is a puzzle platformer where you cannot move backwards. Use boost pads to move around the level in style.

This game was made for the compo in about 40 hours, following the "Two Button Controls" theme.

**NOTE**
Please, refrain from using the Web port unless you're on Mac. There are issues with the Web version, like sometimes not playing music (hence why I included the soundtrack link) and some keybinds not working (only in the Level Editor, from what I found). The web version is also prone to running slower, and physics being a bit wonky. Downloaded versions are highly recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#81Overall3.88
#115Audio3.58
#119Theme4.16
#124Innovation3.79
#124Mood3.60
#200Fun3.57
#247Graphics3.57

Comments

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Great work. Great graphics and concept!

I didn't like the fact that you had to ace a level to advance. But that's just it.

Very good indeed, beginning by the menu already on the two button theme.

Crigs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Fantastic entry! The mechanic is fun to wrap your head around and the music fits especially well into the puzzle solving mindset. I did find a dead state in level 5 in the top right corner of the map. If you jump on the arrows, all you can do is run hopelessly against the tree. Kinda funny in and of itself.

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

Loved the way you did that, and those bastard spikes. xD

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44am

@Crigs Wow, thanks for pointing that out. I had to fix level 5 once already when my friend was playing it and got trapped. I think fixing that doesn't go against compo rules. If not, thanks for making it public that the level is slightly buggered. :P

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Needs faster restart.
Great for speed running because the only way to pass a level is to know it by heart. Overall good game.

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Good spin on traditional sidescrolling mechanics!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Nice work, I played through the entire game! Art style is strong, the music is good, and the puzzle platformer mechanics are new and interesting. Great all-around compo entry that hits all the aspects!

If I were to tweak anything, I guess I thought level 3 had a touch too much repetition, and in a few places there were blind jumps required that were okay but other times it was spikesrestartomg what just happened?

Not that I'd remove the instant restart of course - that's always a key aspect in LD games!

Quique says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

A great game.
The way to go back its funny ;)
My kids loved them.
Good job!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Awesome level design. Simple and wonderful

laFunk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35am

Nice solid work! Maybe a bit of a chore to collect all coins but it's a nice concept! Cheers!

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

Quite an interesting idea!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25am

You really committed to the 'no going back'! It was frustrating but in a good way. Especially those coins that you just HAVE to know are there before you reach them -- I was shaking my fist while smiling. Good one.

TCP786 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18am

So well done! Excellent level design and awesome music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Very nice graphics for being a compo game, it is not that common that a person can make art and code!

I love the knockback mechanic that allows you to move back. I am very impressed by how much of a "complete" game you have managed to make in only 48 hours, everything from menu to multiple levels.

It was also a nice touch to have only two buttons for the menu.

Nice take on the theme and overall an excellent entry!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Now i Wonder why the last stage has arrow pointing upwards in the beginning o.o
Liked the gameplay and mood of the game, well done :)

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Nice game! I hadn't noticed that breakable block until I fall to my death haha. Maybe if it had some bigger cracks...

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Nice graphics, concept and music!! Great entry man. The best game I've played since I'm looking for other games :-)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Really interesting spin on the platformer, great puzzle elements and was really fun to play

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Ahh i liked this game made many mistakes on going to far :)

Well Done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:05am

Another LÖVE game! Lots of fun, enjoyed the mechanic a lot :)

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

Very good, I finished it, it would of been nice with an ending, graphics seemed a bit glitchy but I imagine this was the engine's fault. soundtrack sounded so much better o soundcloud, it would of been amazing if it sounded that good in game.

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31am

Nice mechanics and overall atmosphere. The music was quite relaxing/ However holding right to get pushed further left felt counter intuitive.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06am

Excellent. Just Great. I want more.

My only complaint (sorta): I fell off the end of level 5 and had to redo it. but I didn't mind! I was actually interested in doing it more efficiently

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29am

The art and music is great, love them! A very simple idea but very well executed. The puzzles are well thought out and interesting. I love the little things in the game like you can't even go back on the main menu, things like that. Also I love how it let you replay the level to just finish collecting the coins, made my inner completionist happy :) Thanks for making such an awesome entry!

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:20am

this is a smart idea! I had to play the last level over because i jumped on top of the end crystal :( but it was fun and i liked the difficulty level here. very nice compo entry. good work.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:21am

Awesome! Excellent idea! Great graphics and mechanics! Congratulations!

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Not sure if you noticed but this game was covered in the following youtube video, just happened to see it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ga8v_B_nUyA

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15pm

@pkenny Thanks!

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Really fun game. Simple, but super effective look. I enjoyed the level design for the most part - besides a couple of cheap deaths you put here and there. The idea is well executed, the goals are clear and the fact that you allow the player to progress even if he didn't get all the coins is a really good idea.

I enjoyed playing through this one, even though I broke it at the end :P

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:18am

Good idea for a mechanic. Probably it's done before though. I find levels challenging and you did it without making it too difficult and frustrating. Graphics could use a touch. Good entry, keep it coming.

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Great Concept, great implementation of 2 buttons.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:35am

Excellent level design, the difficulty curve ramped up smoothly and it was never frustrating. Including the level editor was awesome. Extra points for that. I love when devs open up their game for people to fiddle with it. The soundtrack, visuals, subtle vignetting created a really cool almost creepy atmosphere. Great game! Thank you so much for making it!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:54am

Really awesome game. I suck at this style of game, but I just couldn't stop going after I got started. Really great work, and pretty amazing that you included a level editor as well. Great work!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:52pm

This is one of the few games with unannoying two button controls. Many games are so hard to control, not this one though! It plays smoothly, the puzzle design is good and the visuals are pleasing.

Great job!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Hey, I made a web version of your game: http://www.base13.de/NoGoingBack/

The sound's volume is not entirely right (and I had to replace your MP3s with OGGs, because my Web-LÖVE doesn't support MP3 at the moment).

Contact me on Twitter if you have questions on how to change stuff. It should work with any more or less up to date Firefox or Chrome browser with WebGL support.

Cheers!

Karai17 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:50am

I am pretty impressed with this game. First of all, I definitely appreciate the strictness you took with the theme with even the menu adhering to the two-button rule. The music and graphics were good and the puzzles were fun.

What really impressed me is that you also included your level editor with the game. That's just awesome!

One minor bug: At the end of the last level I tried to jump over the goal to see if I could break out of your world. I ended up on top of the goal and unable to actually finish the level.

Great job all around, definitely one of my favourite entries yet!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Nice game! Need some improvements and you need to speed up a little the gameplay.
Great mechanics and nice job with this game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:32am

really nice work here - bonus points for level editor - although i could not figure out how to run my level? - nice job

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:21am

Unique concept! Levels weren't too easy or too hard, and the level editor was a fun extra!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:37am

Really solid entry! Very innovative and awesome music too. Really cool game for a Compo! c:

ragnta says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:48pm

It's awesome! I played with the browser version, and the level editor didn't work. Or I didn't understand :D

MicroMacro says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:13am

@ragnta, The Web version is a bit glitchy. Someone built it for me, and I included it for people on Mac. Some issues include music not playing (one of the reasons I included a link to the soundtrack), and some keybinds failing, like the level editor's keybinds.

Thanks for playing!

shadow64 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:15am

Really solid stuff. I'm not sure sliding forward is very helpful in this instance. It seems to only hurt the player. I love the use of the two button theme, but since you use escape to access the menu, it seems like it's not really necessary to keep it to two buttons there. The music is cool and the mood is solid. I would work with the camera a little bit, there were a few too many times that I was dying just because there was no way at all to see what I was up against. Otherwise, cool level designs and I love that you included an editor! Nice work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:01am

Really neat idea, very well made! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:21am

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
I like how the graphics and music creates the atmosphere. The control was smooth and the levels are designed really well. It has great potential, and it can double the levels easily.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:59pm

The Windows version wouldn't run, so I used the Web version. I like the idea and especially like that you kept the two button controls through-out, including the menu. The music did start, but eventually just stopped on the web version. I'm assuming that's what you meant above. Liked the look. Didn't like the feel of the jump, the gravity wasn't to my liking - but that's me. overall, great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]