Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Go, Go, Radzilla!

by Crowno - Compo Entry

Go, Go, Radzilla! is a simple game about destroying a city with your radioactive powers. It is played with two buttons (Z and X).

For the first time ever I had the confidence to send a game to Ludum Dare, after not being very successful with previous attempts. As soon as I saw the themes, the idea for this game popped up. Unfortunately I didn't manage to fit the second theme planned (growing), but I'm still glad with the results.

Have fun (I hope!), and feel free to make any criticism you like.

Thank you!

Updates
Ver 1.0.1 - Minor bug fix and frame rate adjustment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Graphics4.45
#28Fun4.00
#38Mood4.00
#42Overall4.03
#193Theme4.06
#2115Coolness24%

Comments

eigenbom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Radzilla, I love him! Nice one Victor :)

Prince says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

This is pretty addicting

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

Awesome game, great job!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

Amazing Graphics!! and loved the mechanics of the game!! :)

elliottd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

really nice entry. nice colours and feel. the planes seem to add a lot of pressure mostly because the of the diagonal the bullets make; when i was late shooting down the plane, i still got hit most of the time, it's hard to jump over them and they reach pretty far across the screen as it scrolls.

the first time i ran the game, the character didn't show up, which could be a bug. score was counting, couldn't be hurt destroy things.

Husky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13am

This is really cute and gorgeous!
it's also been nicely polished, well done. :D

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16am

Awesome graphics, gorgeous! Great game too, it was fun. c:

siryakko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57am

A lot of fun really great game, love to play that on my phone

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Wow! Really nice implementation and polish, and helluva fun to play!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Radzilla is RAD. Loved it. Great game. Reminded me of LD33.

KonoMizure says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Nice one! Love it.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I got a score of 9112!
That game was a ton of fun! Radzilla is so cool, I absolutely love the style of the game. So much fun! Especially stomping on the ground. :D Nice job!!

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

That's the amount of creativity I expect from a two-button game. Found at least 4 actions perfomed by 2 buttons only. Also the theme is... RAD! I wish to see an upgraded version of this. This world could have some more giant radioactive glowing lizards.

Fathom says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13am

This was super, super fun. I love the art, I love the gameplay... just very addicting. Great work!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Very good game. The art style is amazing

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38am

Overall nice game! Simplistic but nice! :D

Didi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:18am

This was fun! I played a couple of times! <3 RadZilla

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02pm

This was great fun! Really enjoyable! Would have liked rapid fire but, eh. Still good! Great music too!

Anachron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:10am

Awesome game awesome graphics. I wish I could make Radzilla grow bigger and stronger

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:38am

Nice work with those graphics! Like the controls too

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:53am

Very Nice entry! I love the art style, and the stomping action strangely makes me feels very powerful! :)
Good job!

Btw, you to have opted out audio, but the sound work and music you is very good! :)

Crowno says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Hey guys, thank you all for the feedback. I really appreciate it =)

Just wanted to notify that I made a mistake and the download links were set to private instead of public (...not used to google drive). Took me a while to notice it, so I apologize for everyone who tried to download the desktop version and the source file before.

Now all the download files are public and everyone should be able to download them.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Ok,so...
The game is amazing, i loved the music, the graphics and the difficulty.
The only downside is that i was lost at the controls most of the time where i wanted to quickly jump while shooting a lot of bullets so i could continuously clean the buildings and shoot the airplanes. But because i was constantly pressing the fire button i almost all the time accidentally pressed jump again and did the ground pound missing the airplanes and taking a hit. Unfortunately, because of the theme you can't do this, but maybe another button for the ground pound would improve the controls that are already very responsive and natural.
Or even less charge time on the super ball would resolve, i think.
An amazing work nevertheless!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:04am

Haha amazing. Well done on the graphics! The glow is gorgeous and everything is animated brilliantly. The game dynamic was satisfying and simple. You managed to do a lot with two buttons as well. Really fun. Nice work.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 11, 2016 @ 11:09am

Haha, my counterpart Phoenix849 has the comment I want to echo, that the "2 button" theme has kinda tricked some of the devs into a playability trap but after a little practice you really get into your "weapons of various destruction"!

I got 25,000+ on about my second try.

Re ElliottD's note, the way I got into it was noticing how long and far the missiles went, so you can prepare "cover fire" to crunch the planes at the beginning of their range.

I plan to write this one up over at my favorite other site DonationCoder.com !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]