Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Decider in Chief

by Forlorn79 - Jam Entry

You are the President of the United States of America, but are you "Decider in Chief"?

This game is played by choosing from only 2 options at a time!
It is a "choose your own adventure" style of game.

Twice as many outcomes were planned, but because of lack of time and motivation, there are only 17 endings, and not all unique. More content may end up added in a future version, but the basics are here, already. Give it a rating if you play, and try other paths, too, if you wish.

The opening song is "Hail to the Chief" which was taken from the NES game "Bad Dudes"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2482Coolness0%

Comments

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Though simple, the game was pretty funny :D
Also there are so many possibilities on how to expand.

Anyway I'll be staying in Guantanamo for a while now, I guess xD

kabel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

It could've been slightly better or more engaging, but I guess this is everything a text based game can do.

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

Neat little story game. had me entertained for a few replayes
Some of the "Mission accomplished" links don't seem to logically follow from the actions that were taken.
Since browsers remember which links you clicked on, that makes for a nice way of exploring the options

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:15am

A really simple text-based adventure, it had a good sense of humour and was easy to play. I would have liked to see more depth, perhaps a longer campaign where your choices earlier affect those later rather than being a kind of decision tree.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Sorry, though the writing isn't bad, there's just not very interesting decisions to be made, especially for something as grand as becoming the president of the USA.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:20am

First, I was impeached after taking two steps, then had to restart. Then I compromised, and became a true president.

I do like the silly actions you could take. It's on the short side, but doesn't outstay its welcome.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Nice work! I really liked the amount of variation in the different branches and endings.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:27am

Mission Accomplished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]