Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Lawpasser

by KBF123 - Compo Entry

Choose which laws get passed in this city state.
Play multiple times for various outcomes!

Controls:
A: pass a law
D: deny a law

Let me know if either the link or the game don't work. I'm still new to this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Humor3.27
#762Graphics2.52
#807Mood2.35
#815Theme3.23
#820Innovation2.50
#873Overall2.68
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Where can this be played? I don't see a link any where

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Can you download Processing?
It can be opened in that.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Not quite sure how to run this one. There doesn't seem to be any sort of executable included in the .zip.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

How can this even be played?

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

I like the title and the image, but would you be okay with uploading the source as a .ZIP file? I have processing installed already. It would just make downloading easier.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Nevermind! You can download as .ZIP!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

There's a file called Ludum_Dare_24.pde which can be opened in processing 3(maybe 2 as well).
I didn't know how to compress it or export it.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

Haha, the dog in jail was adorable.

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Haha, very cool I love it! It told me the folder must be named: Ludum_Dare_34, just so you know. All of the images look great btw.

I love how I killed Fredie Kruger when I outlawed masks with the guillotine :)

You have to install Processing 3 in order to play it.

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Couldn't get it running, but I really like the impossible quiz-esque artstyle!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Looks like for Processing, all you have to do is choose "Export Application" from the file menu to build a standalone executable version - that will probably be a lot easier for people to run.

Simple game, but I had some fun replaying it several times to see all the different outcomes.

miwuc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Fun little game. A bit short but it has lots of potential. I liked the grizzly bear :D

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

What is a pde and how do I play it? I don't understand! Help!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Try saving the file as a .zip
I heard that works but it might not
otherwise, download Processing 3... or not

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Not sure how to play!

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52am

Expecting a windows port.

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:17am

Can't play =(

Waiting for a Win release.

Somnium says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:52am

Fun game! The bear was a nice touch.

You can use the "File -> Export Application" option in the top menu, in order to export your game. You can then find the game files as a subfolder called e.g. "application.windows32" - and then you can distribute that folder (possibly compressed with e.g. winzip) as well.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:14pm

It was a challenge to launch the game. Nevertheless it was woth it. This is the game, where you choices actually matter :)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Making choices is always fun!
Poor dogs and...everyone else.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]