Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Grow

by johanw123 - Jam Entry

A mighty cry echoes from the mountain, a Yeti's roar of freedom. Vibrations echo through the range, snow groans and creaks and, squirrels hold on to their nuts as a solitary snowball makes begins its brutal descent.

Experience the freedom of mouse OR keyboard controls. Roll down the mountain and grow into an unstoppable engine of destruction, those critters wont know what hit them!

But watch out! Only the purest snow sticks together, if you dirty yourself too much your rampage will be at an end...

A, LMB – Move Left

D, RMB – Move Right

A+D, LBM+RMB – Jump


NOTE:
Fullscreen resolutions looks weird with the UI on the desktop builds, WebGL fullscreen looks fine tho.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Theme(Jam)4.20
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#266Audio(Jam)3.47
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#639Graphics(Jam)3.20
#696Innovation(Jam)2.87
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

For scrolling games it's best to put the player near the edge (top edge in this case) so that they can see what's ahead.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

That was fun and the sounds were great!

It was a bit difficult to see whether you're on the ground or not from the top down perspective, though.

kopa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

That's some great feedback. Thanks to you both! //one of the jammers

EwChap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Fun concept. Nice sound clips. Was a little tricky to notice you were being thrown up in the air some times. Once I realized that was happening it all made a lot more sense. Nice entry.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Great atmosphere and gameplay. Great sounds for when you hit the squirrels. A lot of fun!
Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-Not-Found team)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I would've like a bit more color. The concept is really fun, though.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice use of both theme! Maybe you should put the player closer to the edge because you can't see what is coming if you go too fast. Good job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Pretty fun game, although the instructions are BLOODY hard to read.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:30pm

As we all know, games with snowballs picking up stuff are completely amazing. *cough* Lookin' good.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:53am

Great stuff, once I got hang of it.

Don't know if it was just me, but the yellowish font on the white-yellowish background was almost illegible. Consider using something with a bit more contrast :)

Would've loved seeing the caught items stick out from the snowball :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:07pm

I'm not sure what just happened! There was lots of screaming... and blood! :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]