Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow!

by fede0d - Compo Entry

Endless mazes! Run agains the clock and find the exit.

A seed has sprouted in the deep. Guide the plant trough the deep mazes and out to the bright light of the sun.
You have to find the exit before the plant dies.

Oxigen: find the exit before the sprout suffocates.
Nutrients: eat rats to stay strong and move faster.

Infinite mazes: you can play in tiny and simple mazes or enormous and difficult.


Only two buttons input: left and right to move the plant.


I used Godot Engine to make it.
Also: Inkscape, Gimp, Audacity, LMMS.

The game is available for Android mobile phones and tablets.

More info here: http://fede0d.github.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#109Theme4.17
#301Fun3.39
#418Graphics3.21
#421Overall3.31
#503Mood2.93

Comments

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Pixel graphics looks nice. Nice work.
(Been looking at Godot for a while, nice to see a Godot user)

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Great game ! well done sir !

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Yeap, Godot is great. It works flawlessly for this kind of rapid prototyping/gameplay testing.

aplomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

Fantastic polish and depth! My only gripe is that the T-intersections are extremely frustrating to turn at.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

+1 for android. Well done.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20am

This game didn't scale well to a high DPI OnePlusOne screen, and the sound was a bit one note, but good game in other aspects.

OdnetninI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39am

Good graphics, but...
I dont know why, it doesnt like me at all

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54am

Nice game. I realize the controls are the challenge, but they feel a bit too clunky.
It would be nice if the water didn't start running out until the first input came in.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06am

Controls cover a lot of screen but work well, Graphics are pretty good, but the sounds....

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16am

A fellow Godot user! I installed the game on my phone but haven't played it yet, but I wanted to try and run the source code to see if it has keyboard controls, but the project has issues opening. Was this project made in Godot 2.0? I think that's probably the issue, cuz I'm using 1.1 (I like things stable)

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26am

Nice job! Simple and very polished!

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42pm

@batmanasb Yes I used a custom build of the latest source.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Great concept, but the movement can be a little frustrating, especially when trying to exit the level. I kept narrowly missing it, and then dying.

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

+1 for Android

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Great game, so fun and well done, +1 by godot :)

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice game! Risky to do it only for android but the game is really good, if you polished the effects and graphics a bit more It could become a popular game in Google Play

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Aww okay, 2.0 projects aren't backwards compatible, but that's fine. Anyways, I tried it and the controls are a little annoying, I'd highly recommend you implement pacman style controls where it remembers the last direction you pressed and turns there as soon as it can.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

Controls require a bit too much precision, especially for touch screen. Sometimes it also feels like I lack just one second to win due to how level generates.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:55am

Great game, controls need a little workover.
Overall a very cool entry!
Keep up the good work with godot!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Really neat little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Like the concept, how the theme is realised, but I managed to bug the game where both of the possible texts overlapped... but the game is awesome and I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]