Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hyperdemocracy

by Dreyan - Jam Entry

Hyperdemocracy is a narrative game centered around the citizens of a city who have surpassed the need for government and are instead given total control over putting forward, and voting on, any and all decisions they undertake as a society. Freedom has never been so communal. Please do not try and leave your room until you have voted on the minimum agreed amount of motions for the day. Please refrain from using the chat to try and influence other voters. Have a pleasant day. Please click here to return to the TwoButton.com homepage.

If you are a resident of Dreyton, please remember to fill out an A0118 form in triplicate as per the motion agreed on March 25th before returning via the circle road. Our city thanks you for your tireless service. <<updated as of Motion 1222B>>.

-----

Hyper Democracy was completed in 72 hours by Mathew Arnold [@skyewardmedia] with assistance from the following contributors:

Niru - art and music [@nirufekriarnold]
Noir - art and music
Mai - writing
Yaam (C010rized) - music [https://www.youtube.com/user/multitrackviolin]
Kiana (Acrylic) - writing
McKlumpFisk - sfx

Not all assets were implemented in time for the jam and not all ideas were fully realised. The game is meant primarily as a narrative experience as told through the fluctuating environment and the voices of the apartment block’s local chat on TwoButton.com. We hope you enjoy it!

(Press E to exit computer screen in game.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#31Humor(Jam)4.07
#33Audio(Jam)4.14
#55Mood(Jam)4.07
#86Innovation(Jam)3.84
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#207Fun(Jam)3.56
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64

Comments

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01am

I am really impressed by this. It's so awesome!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Although the game didn't have much variation in features, the only feature available sure was detailed. I loved just watching the chat and enjoying the music until I lost connection.

BlazzGuy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Enjoyable little game. Reminds me of Papers, Please! Quite short, but more than passable for a game jam and, if longer, I probably would have been bored (without more exploration pieces). A nice experience as is. Growing theme seems a bit off, as it changes more than it grows. Still good.

architect404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

worryingly realistic chat simulator! interesting and amusing game, great writing, nice job!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Fantastic game! The pixel art was really good and the story was awesome! :D

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Awesome game ! :D
I assume the theme of the game is "Two buttons control", and to me this game is really close to that theme :D
I love the contrast between the cold city and the funny chat. A really well made game.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

Chat room chatter is so good. Really neat way to convey a story. I liked the world that was created here.

Awesome Job!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39pm

It was a very fun start on a game that feels like it wants to become something much bigger. Nice work. It would have been nice if the interaction with the voting machine was mapped to buttons close to the keyboard controls so one didn't need to use the mouse. If the chat didn't clear on voting would have felt more "natural" too, but maybe insert a status into the chat "* You voted YES on prop 1420" or something. I would love to see this voting economy-dystopia continued into a full adventure/exploration game.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Honestly Local Minimum I agree with all those points, there are definitely a lot of things that could have helped the player digest the narrative

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Great concept, the chat made me laugh out loud several times. It's also just as long as it should be. Nice job.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29am

Really cute and super clever! Great job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:56am

lol this was pretty unique... I liked the concept and art though. Quite a nice game :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:56am

Congrats to wrtitters and musicians. Great work with the feels!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02pm

A very innovative and clever game, I like it. The music is very enjoyable as well. Well done!

martim00 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:09pm

I really appreciate this game. The chat text is genial! Also liked the music and art.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I was not able to actually play. I just got a black screen with broken lines and occasionally some broken images. (Windows 64-bit if that helps)

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Dood idea, liked it

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Amazing game. Congratz :D

Rocketship says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Short but sweet, good writing and sound design. Also liked the graphics. I understand it's a jam game but I would have liked a bit more actual interaction to make it feel like anything I did actually mattered. As a story it's wonderful and I definitely got interested in the universe.

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice idea!! It would be cool you could go outside the city or something. Great job though.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45pm

This was so immersive -- the most of any game I've played in ludum. It felt like there really were other players on the other side of that chat. Hell, I wish there were I'd play forever (COULD YOU PLEASE MAKE THAT HAPPEN NEXT?!). Excellent job!

ptkfs says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Incredible.. Amazing work guys.

elizeu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28am

Great work.

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:09am

Running the .exe also doesn't work for me. The first time I saw what looked like an atlas of images, and then broken lines radiating from the center. I could hear the music though. I'm on window 8 x64.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:20am

short but sweet, I'm amazed how many lines of dialog you fit in, and they were pretty funny as well!

great job :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:47pm

It's an interesting dystopian setting for interactive fiction, but at the moment it's not very interactive.

The only interaction, the voting, has no effect. This is to drive in the point that a single vote alone has no power, I presume, but I inferred that from the chat messages alone so what's the point?

The one motion where a single vote does get a reaction from the chat is also scripted to always have that one vote no matter what I choose, why take a way the only vestige of agency?

That's one thing I really dislike about this kind of interactive fiction writing. It's all a smoke-screen easily revealed by replaying with opposite choices. Reading this as a novel or a visual novel would have given me the same content in a more compelling form, i.e. not as a slow chat drip feed.

Some suggestions:

- Make those few close-call motions matter. Don't force the outcome.

- The moving around bit is completely unnecessary and could be replaced by an image of a room where clicking the computer would start voting, clicking the window would look outside, etc.

- Come up with more ways to interact with the chat and people outside the chat, after all that would totally happen in this kind of world. Branching dialogue trees, hazy pattern matching, relationship simulations... There are a lot of tools to include meaningful interactivity.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:31am

Awesome! I really liked the personalities of the different persons.

aare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Very interesting!! I really liked it :D

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:38am

The chat really makes this, even the "typing speed" is accurate, i just sat there reading it vote after vote, so good. I love how you created such a captivating setting and characters with such a simple interface. Super impressed!

One thing i might add: i didn't think to check if the environment changed after each motion was passed until the first day was done, and think i might have missed some content because of it. Maybe that could be fixed if you returned to the room after each vote, or each passed motion at least? It would break flow a bit, but it might be worth it.

Also, none of my neighbours have a computer; how are they performing their CIVIC DUTY?!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]