Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Darkness

by djfariel - Jam Entry

The Darkness is our take on the Grow theme. The objective is quite simple: defeat the growing darkness.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Left Click - Shoot where mouse is
Right Click / Space bar - Activate aura
Escape - Suicide / Quit

There are a number of cheat codes that we made to test things. These can and will break your game if used. After you're done enjoying the game normally, I highly recommend trying them. To use one, make sure you're in the game (not the menu) and then just simply type the word. If it doesn't work, give it a second try.
power
light
dark
lich
sword
stairs
cats
death
super

And now for our rant! This time around we worked at a significantly more efficient pace. We managed to have the core "game" done in less than 24 hours. There were still tons of bugs and features that weren't in (like the boss), but everything that needed to be there was there. For our third time participating in Ludum Dare, we managed to learn a lot about how much we've grown this year. I, personally, look forward to what lesson we walk away from this Ludum Dare with and I'm incredibly happy to have participated.
We look forward to your feedback, both negative and positive!

Oh, and just a heads up? This game can get incredibly CPU intensive. You've been warned. =)

As always, OSX and Linux builds are completely untested as we have no means to do so. Use at your own risk. Also, for some reason, Avast is catching the game and not letting it run. I have no idea why this is -- it isn't giving a reason. If anyone can provide feedback on exactly how to fix this (seems to be a random Unity game issue according to the internet) that would be great.

UPDATE: Minor bug fix for audio levels not working on rare occasion, fix where two of the powerups were accidentally useless.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#58Fun(Jam)3.92
#123Overall(Jam)3.81
#148Audio(Jam)3.71
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#205Innovation(Jam)3.58
#382Graphics(Jam)3.69
#441Humor(Jam)2.77
#541Theme(Jam)3.64

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40am

very fun, the cheat codes were great too

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

Hi, could you bind ZQSD and arrows as well, please ? Thx !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

Nice idea, i like roguelike as hell :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37am

The darkness was a lot more terrifying than I thought it would be. Good job, this is a really fun game!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37am

Hello darkness my old friend...

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

I love the graphics!! :D nice entry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

Really awesome game, easily sunk like half an hour into it. Very fun, tons of unique attacks, and really good aesthetically. Great job!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Very fun. Takes a little bit to figure out what to do at first though (even with the tutorial screens)

Karatorian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

Linux build doesn't seem to do anything beyond locating joysticks. However, the Windows version seems to work under wine. (I haven't tried it beyond the start screen, yet.)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

Nice job, loving pretty much everything I'm seeing!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Fun Game, I like the visuals, lighting effects and growing mechanic. Good Job!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

Nice graphics ! Like the concept :)

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Nice Gameplay, i just thought its a little difficult to destroy the darknes, and it grows really fast,

Gtron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

I like the interpretation of growing as a means toward a lose condition instead of a win condition. The game is really fun and has a lot of depth for a surprisingly low level of complexity.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

Very nice visuals and fun gameplay! I liked it, spent a good amount of time on it :D

Karatorian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

Linux build doesn't seem to do anything beyond locating joysticks. However, the Windows version seems to work under wine. (I haven't tried it beyond the start screen, yet.)

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

I enjoyed the lighting effects. The audio was great.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09am

Great art and interesting idea. Gratz!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13am

Okay. This is the best game I've seen yet. I'm keeping this one for later to show my roommate. Good freakin' job. Love it!

I really enjoy all the different types of ammo you get. I enjoy exploring those things in games, and I'm glad you added them in. The music was amazing. The art was amazing. The game was just great you guys.

Also, I LOVE THOSE CHEATS. So much fun! Btw, sword plus cats = best combo ever. Thanks for making this guys! :D

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00am

Lots of fun especially when messing around with the cheat codes.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58am

Neat idea, but needs a bit more polish in the gameplay department.
Fun though.

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Very fun concept ! Perhaps the game is a bit too difficult though, or maybe i'm just not very good ^^

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Nice game. I like the variety of powerups. The effect of the darkness constantly spreading is well done and is satisfying to fight back against it. Nice graphics and music too.

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Some fun gameplay here, but very difficult. Needs some balancing but it is quite good! The audio was a bit off somewhere, whether it was just volume balancing or something else, I can't quite put my finger on it...

Shrub says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19am

I cant even beat the first floor... also what does aura do?

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49am

Lots of fun! I got just to floor 2 and I must say it was challanging. Good job!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:12am

Very well made entry. I thought it was a little difficult, but it wasn't too bad. My main complaint I guess was the tutorial.. I hate tutorials that you have to read like instruction manuals :S

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very nice :) A lot of fun.

juxipolo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:17pm

love the music! Game play is fun, but can be hard if you don't find a convenient powerup early

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:21am

this was lots of fun - and difficult - keep it up

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]