Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spock The Pug

by cicanci - Compo Entry

Help Spock to eat healthy food, he loves broccoli! Pizza will make him grow fat and be slower.

Controls:
- Use the mouse left button or keyboard arrows to move Spock left/right
- Get the broccoli to make points
- Pizza will make you bigger and slower

About the game:
- I tried to use both themes, so you have two buttons to move Spock (left and right) and he grows with pizza
- I had few hours available during this weekend to work on this project, but I hope to improve it after the LD
- I created the pizza, broccoli and sky images using GIMP (sorry for the poor art, I'm a programmer) and the game using Unity 5.3
- The picture in the menu background and the player avatar are from my cute dog, Spock (took the pictures during this weekend)
- He is so happy that he is flying
- He also likes Star Wars

Tested on:
- Mac OS X 10.11.1
- Android 4.0.1

Please, leave your feedback! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#128Humor3.33
#661Fun2.91
#742Theme3.36
#773Mood2.45
#800Overall2.82
#883Graphics1.94
#919Innovation2.03

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 1:21pm

...soon...

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15am

He should of exploded

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

That was my idea, explode him into confetti, but I didn't have time to develop this. The game also don't have sound :(

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57am

I just love the pug :D

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

I like it when he gets so big that you can't avoid anything!

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:02pm

No souind,very simple and graphic are very rustic.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Could do with some sound and/or music to make a better atmosphere, but it was fun nonetheless, good job :)

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! Unfortunately I didn't have time to create the sound, but I'm planing to do it as soon as possible :)

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Funny game !

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Nice dog

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Entertaining, but could be more complex.

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Loved it! Loved that he grew so big he can only roll. :D

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Haha, you made a game that is funniest to lose!

Love that pug, really, is it yours?

i think, that maybe the game play would be better if there was on horizontal, and you had like 3 or 4 columns to catch things, that way the collisions would be better (checking y position and columns)

nway, it is great, really lovable pug, how to not give him a delicious slice of pizza?

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

one gameplay imrovment i could see is to make so the dog doesn´t keep on going when it's under the mouse. I think the game would feel more natural if it worked like that. You could have worked more on the graphics, but the pug was 10/10. Nice game

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I love pugs too.... and Broccoli. :D Don't let him explode... please !

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

I like pugs.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

I... Well... That was... Something.
The moment I've seen these screenshots I have thought: 'it will be bad but funny game...' And it wasn't that bad but it was still funny. It still could get some polish when it comes to hitboxes, but well done.

cicanci says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Yes, that is my pug, Spock :)

I won't make him explode haha

Thank you for all feedbacks! I know that is too simple, but I'm happy that it has some potencial. I'll definitely make it a better game!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:11am

This game was too easy. It's not until you start failing that the game shows off its true silliness, so it would have been better if it had been harder so the player can get to that point sooner.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:51pm

This was really fun! idk if I just am bad or what, but I missed a ton of broccoli due to not getting the hitboxes aligned. If possible, I think if there was like, a collar around his head to show the actual unit size (assuming it's a circle) so it would be easier to grab broccoli and miss pizza reliably

mattrified says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:51am

I like how his head began to roll; I was wondering what was going to happen when he got too big...didn't know it was going to be game over, but makes sense.

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Good idea to involve your dog in this competition ;). A good source of inspiration and a loyal fan

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]