Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

YinYang

by paruthidotexe - Jam Entry

Yin And Yang is a world where you have to change your personality to survive.

Controls : TWO Buttons
A = Yin = Dark colors
D = Yang = Light colors

You will be spawn as yin and started to go down the road, when the color of the floor changes under you, switch to the same color (yin = Dark​, yang = Light​) or you cant survive. Switch between the two personalities with two buttons.

This is initial version made for learning libgdx, box2d and for the ludumdare game jam.Planned for a puzzles but no time for LD34..

You might need JVM for playing this.

Have fun playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#753Mood(Jam)2.92
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#857Graphics(Jam)2.69
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

TeamOliphants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

it looks really nice! if you keep working on it and add some puzzle I'd love to play it.

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Graphics are nice, the idea is good, whith more work you can do a great game. I got stuck one time because i change the color too late but i guess it was just a respite because i did the change too late ^^

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Not too bad, i liked the concept. The abrupt white/black changes are a bit hard on the eyes though (maybe do a slight fade instead?).
Keep up the good work, cheers!

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I was expecting some complexity over time.

Also, it would have been cool to have a timer to know how long I've endured.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:27am

Good idea, wish we had scoreboard and increasing speed to show who would be best ying/yanger here :)
Gameplay was smooth, you wouldnt be punished if you clicked too late or too early and the random hopping didnt make things more difficulty

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:47am

The idea is so Cool~
try making scene more interesting,the game will be amazing!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:07am

:) cool concept, good game.
i myself made my game on yinyang concept with completely different style,

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:48am

A good start, the switching between two colors is a well-worn mechanic, but still an interesting one to work with. However, the game fails to take it beyond a rudimentary level.

Also, the game is very low contrast. Consider making the background the opposite color of the ball and floor.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Nice effort. Looks like there were a few collision issues with the player / blocks. Might be better to have one big collider and then have the actual blocks separate for the aesthetic. Good entry, decent idea - agree scoreboard would be nice! :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

The concept is good but it feels lacking quickly. With some variation in the line or maybe it rolls down various black and white lines and you have to not end in a dead end.

A time score or something should pop up once you fall off to try and reward you. I had to purposefully fall to see if there was a score as well.

Again, I like the concept. A lot you can do with it.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Very nice and simple game!
Maybe adding a score and more variety of platforms would sure make it better.
Well done!

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Cool idea ... ! (y) :)

Gins says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:07am

The concept is nice, but it seems you didn't have much time to develop the idea, since it's just black and white alternating forever without any elements to spice it up. :(

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Nice concept, could definitely see this continued! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]