Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

La forêt

by Supr - Jam Entry

This game has been inspired by Max Ernst's paintings about mysterious forests.

Controls:
WASD + mouse
Esc to exit

Start:
You should plant a "tree" and then explore a landscape.

Please, use headphones for better experience.

Sounds from freesound.org by toiletrolltube https://freesound.org/people/toiletrolltube/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#141Mood(Jam)3.77
#265Innovation(Jam)3.48
#292Graphics(Jam)3.84
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#804Theme(Jam)3.30
#991Fun(Jam)2.43

Comments

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

This indeed looks like an oil-painting

DMinsky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Great visual style

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Well, that was a weird experience. Weird but interesting :D

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Well, that was ... weird.

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

It was difficult to understand the overall game indeed, but aftar this I was pleased with the concept.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57am

Nice arty experience.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Good looking. To be honest, I don't really know wich is the aim of this game, but it's nice. Anyway, enjoyed the art. Cheers!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Nice environment, very nice!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:53am

Interesting artsy experience. I didn't particularly have too much fun with it, however I commend the innovation of the concept and thinking outside the box approach

Zulgot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:13am

Very art-oriented game. I like it a lot :)

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:47am

This should be in a modern art gallery.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:48pm

An interesting experience, evevn though I have no idea what the purpose is, if there is any at all. But the mood in itself is quite cool. I don't get if the background making all those weird shapes is something you wanted or a bug.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:05pm

It was a weird experience. The last minute of the game really feeled like I'm in a forest.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Oh, i really want to play this game, but it didn't run on windows 7 64 x((((

Supr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:35pm

>>Oh, i really want to play this game, but it didn't run on windows 7 64 x((((

So strange, because my platform is Win 7 x64 too. Maybe it's not a reason.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Weird weird... Strange shaders. An interesting experience ++

freaknarf says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:04pm

That was weird... Too much mushrooms...
Great work on sounds and atmosphere !
I was surprised when it ended, and it left me a strange feeling. I think it could be quite frightening with even more visual glitches and flashes !

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Weird. I love it. I wonder what it would look like with VR.

jofra says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Really awesome. Love this kind multimedia experiences very well done and very outside of the box. I really enjoy seeing this experiments in this kind of event.
Awesome job :)

napoleon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:24pm

reminds me of this is infinity.

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Wow weird and cool! I don't know if I reached the end of the game, just a black screen. I love the gradation in the landscape and in the sounds! You grow a forest and then the forest gets you. 5/5 for the theme and graphics.

Pilly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Really liked this one overall. Great sound effects - loved how they changed as things started growing, and how the overwhelming visual & sound effects were followed by silence and nothingness (guessing that was intentional, but I liked it either way).

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Really neat visual effects, but that's really all.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Strange atmosphere, I liked the psychedelic feeling at the start, but it lacks some depth or real evolution so we quickly see everything it has to offer. It's a bit deceiving as the first impression is weird and surprising!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:39am

The music sounds glitchy, with some dings and bonks? But it made the atmosphere feel like a forest... haha.

After a few minutes trees started to spawn in me. Bug?

Supr says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:33pm

>>After a few minutes trees started to spawn in me. Bug?

It's not a bug. How one of the players said "You grow a forest and then the forest gets you". Something like that.

23 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:40am

It's too bad it's not much of a game, but it is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you for making this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]