Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Kawaii Timeshift Desu

by chaomoon - Jam Entry

This game has gamepad support! :D
Kawaii Cat returns in his sequel, Super Kawaii Timeshift Desu! He can't stop running for some reason, but he has to make it to the end to have fun with the physics engine. Guide Kawaii Cat through at least 3 pointless puzzles purely because of the fact that you have nothing better to do at this moment in time! (Kawaii Cat appreciates it)

Controls:
Up Arrow Key - Jump
Left Arrow Key - Time Warp

(i'm sorry for no music ok)
(i promise there's at least 1 secret in the game)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Fun(Jam)3.77
#104Humor(Jam)3.68
#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#241Graphics(Jam)3.95
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Jace239 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

I love this! Everything about it! The cute cat! The deadly spikes! The doublejump! The timewarp mechanic! The puzzles! I haven't beaten the game yet, but believe me, I intend to. I'll do a Let's Play of it later, I think this game will be perfect for that. Rage-inducing goodness.

In the time I played it for, I couldn't find any real faults with this game. You already mentioned and opted out of the music, so that's covered. Although I will say I don't think you necessarily should've opted out of Audio, because the sound-effects were still great!

Anyway, good work! I look forward to playing this some more later! :D

Kitfox says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Simple and elegant integration of time rewind mechanics!

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Fun little game, I enjoyed it a fair bit. I must say that it took me a while to realise that I could double-jump!

Game mechanics feel very solid.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17pm

GM bro)
Flappy cat)
Very interesting runner - second WARP-button makes gameplay more complex - i think after some tuning and polishing there will be nice mobile hit (or html with mouse :)

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Hmm.. Unfortunately I am stuck on part that is only about a minute in. The mechanic is pretty cool and the graphics are pleasing to look at. I like that you including gamepad support!

purrpurr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I really enjoyed Super Kawaii Timeshift Desu! (just rolls off the tongue.) I also was amazed with how these simple mechanics weren't used to make something dull. It's honestly not too challenging. The baked in mess-up, die, repeat routine did keep me busy a little while. Neither was retrying very bothersome or frustrating. Would definitively like to see more of it, maybe even a bit more fast-paced.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

This is pretty cool! I think the timeshift should slow down your momentum a bit when you release left though. It's quite jarring and difficult to control as is. Levels were enjoyable. Great job!

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I'ts so cute that I want to die. Good game, I really enjoyed it! I could finished it after my 10th attempt haha :D
Congrats!!!

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08am

I loved the mechanic, and the game looked and played great! I liked the thought put into level design, it was fun to go down a path, realize it was the wrong path, and be able to fix the mistake. Great work!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

I love how you have approched mechanics!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46am

I trolled this troll game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Absolutely loved the timewarp mechanic :D

llwheeler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I found it challenging and fun. Love the pink timewarp! Took me a few tries, and many dead kittehs. Timewarp=invincible, and some areas are designed to require using invincible. Had to watch my timewarp bar, and use it wisely. Super cute and clever! XD

yuigoto says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Great entry! Loved the cat graphics and the whole mechanic! If you added some soundtrack it would be amazing! :)

The level design is also quite challenging! ;) Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]