Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Horde (Growing)

by Kushulain - Jam Entry

Hi folks,

Here's our game : Horde.
A simple game about destruction and killing around the theme of Vikings.

===Goal :

As a viking tribe leader, your goal is to slain everything in your path and grow as a horde as big as possible. The more you kill, the happier you become. But you will need resources to support your horde.
Reach at least 50 followers !

===Resources :

Population : the number of warrior in your horde, you can grow by recruting in cities, farms etc.

Food : It gives a survival aspect to the game, you spend some food by moving and fighting and as a result your warriors can starve to death.

Weapons and gear : Your combat ability and proficiency depends on this resource. You can gain weapons by looting barracks and cities.

Energy : indicates the morale of your warriors, directly influence fights issues.

Mounts : increase your storage capacity.

===Controls :

Right Mouse : Move around
Left Mouse : Speed Boost (costs 10 energy)

===Artist :
Victor 'KoS' Chaisemartin

===Programers :
Nicolas 'Rubafix' Grunberger
Victor 'Kushulain' Beaupuy

Some sounds effects are under this license :
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
Author : http://www.yapaudio.co.uk/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#41Fun(Jam)4.03
#60Theme(Jam)4.28
#109Overall(Jam)3.84
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50

Comments

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I liked the game! ;) Good Job!

Oxeren says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very fun! :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

FOR THE HORDE!

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I like it :) Sounds are great and graphics are nice. As fun as rampaging through the world is, it gets easy very quickly. Is there an end to this journey?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Wow, I totally impressed! This game is pretty addictive! It has simple control, large world to explore and strategic elements. Maybe it needs some tuning, or maybe I am bad at this, but it is hard to control your tribe when it becomes large.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Very fun game. I played it for a while amassing a giant army of vikings lol. Eventually I got bored though as I could never lose but that's ok :). Audio was good!

Kushulain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44am

@rzuf : There is no winning. No ending unless you die.
CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD : Controlling the horde is a bit hard to manage on purpose. But yes, it would need some more tuning. We could have made a much more addictive game !
Leuthil : Yes, the game can quickly become tedious, but maybe if you stick to the goal make the biggest horde possible, you can spend some time.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20am

Odin would be proud of this game norse fella!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12pm

WoW ...I mean....Wow

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Enjoyed this a lot :) quite nice

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I really love this idea! Would like to see it turned into a full game. I played for much longer than I anticipated - quite addicting. After 100 people in my horde, tho, I felt pretty invisible. Had to close the game with around 305 =P

Kushulain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06pm

@Archonthewizard : you have the special congratulations of the team ! It's hard to get to this amount of people, and further.

rkhadder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19pm

I played this game longer than any other I've reviewed so far

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Interesting concept, great music and graphic. 11/10 would play it again

NecroMac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58pm

nice strategy game. viking running away from your army when you move too fast was one thing that annoyed me. but it was quite fun.

AxeTheory says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:50pm

181 vikings. Not sure how strength of a town is calculated. It would be nice to see the number of soldiers that will attack from a town. Example one with 10 people may send only 1 or 5. I wasn't sure if that was based on the amount of weapons in a town. I could see how that is by design so that the player has some risk when attacking. I did learn to attack farms until I got big enough to attack a barracks get some weapons then attack a large town.

deadpixl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Great game! I had a ton of fun, even though I kept getting destroyed.

Robber says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:41pm

HEUH! great solid game! enjoyed it a lot!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:25am

Adheres to theme very well, fun to just watch your army grow.

Ghen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:43pm

really great game, love it!
i played for good 30 minutes, addicting, easy to play, but sometimes i got reckless and got all my crew slayed lol
but my only complain is, sometimes couple of the vikings slowing down and get separate from the group, it just kinda annoying

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Nice entry. This game is pretty adictive and it has a good mood. However, I had a troublesome bug: people used to detach from my horde. I had to walk super slow so it does not happen and if I go too fast, I have to go backward to get back the people that left my horde. Sometimes, those people even turn into ennemies! Appart from that, it was made. Good job ;)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Very hard at the beginning, but when you have 100 viking attacking a village with 8 guards, it's really fun. Good job ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]