Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Speed

by Niphram - Compo Entry

Speed - inspired by the movie
Drive your bus around the city, try not to die and live as long as you can.

Use A and D to steer your vehicle, pressing both at the same time to brake a bit.

1) If you crash into something -> You die.
2) If you drive slower than 50 -> You die.
3) If you run out of gas -> Well, you get slower, refer to rule 2.


Well, this was my first LD, my first time using LibGDX and my first time creating a game.
I think it went quite well. :)


Completed in maybe 12 hours of work.
All assets were created in this time.

Written in Java.
Using LibGDX, sfrx, GIMP and Tiled.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#412Fun3.24
#425Humor2.48
#599Theme3.58
#605Audio2.29
#624Graphics2.85
#658Overall3.03
#764Mood2.50
#765Innovation2.63

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55am

Very crazy handling in this game, haha! But it's actually not so bad, good job!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

I clicked when I saw the first screenshot. I liked the basis for the game, however it was hard to handle the bus -- like really hard. Other than that it was fun! I got frustrated a couple of times cause I got going too fast!

Provocator says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:18am

Very fast! It seems that the brakes were broken :D

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19am

Man that bus can turn on a dime. Good use of the theme. I like how fast it is, really ramps up the intensity. Collision detection seems a bit off though. Your bus goes quite a ways into the buildings before it explodes.

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

Nice game! The steering gets really sensitive after a while :p
It could use some music, but other than that it's a solid game.

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

For the collision: it detects if the center of the bus is colliding, since i did not know how to rotate rectangles in LibGDX :S But thanks for the feedback!

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

In a way I kind of like this, but in others I kind of don't. I get that it's only using 2 buttons for controls, but I feel this would have been a lot more playable if the roads didn't have any deadends - if I could continuously drive around the streets it would be quite fun. Also being a bit further zoomed out would be preferable, maybe as the vehicle gets faster, the camera goes up.
The sound art art style were lacking, but it felt nice to be in a world that had some variety - you could very easily have just made a gridded street pattern and had fuel cans everywhere.
But it's playable, and responsive, and at the end of the day, not a "bad" game.

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:00pm

@Rogod thanks for the feedback, if I find the time, I may implement a few more things!

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I like the theme, but the controls are way too sensitive. It's almost impossible to keep the bus on a road.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Fun to play, nice job! I think that the controls are a little bid sensitive too, but it's still good.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

The handling got ridiculous but I guess thats part of the difficulty in the game. I liked the idéa but would have liked a something more than hiscore as a goal.

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Hardcore controls, I like that :D

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Pretty fun game! Controls were too sensitive, but i got used to them after a while!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Game was fun, and it was clear how to play and what to do.

My best score was 26,243, which is staying alive quite some time. Unfortunately the winning strategy, at least the one that worked for me, was to get fuel and then spend it driving in circles by holding down the arrow key. This was the only time I felt safe, and I broke out of that to go find fuel only.

When I didn't do that, I did have fun screaming around the city at 80mph in a twitchy bus!

I would recommend that this game is so fast paced that the restart should skip going back to the title screen and just INSTANTLY replay, although it's a tiny thing.

Nice work for your first LD compo and on such a short time budget.

If I were to work on this some more I would experiment with two changes. First some camera work. I might zoom out at higher speed, and I would definitely at least try offsetting the center so the player sees more of what's ahead than behind. Second I would experiment with a ramp-up time on the responsiveness of the steering control. So like it starts 20% as responsive, say, and then over the course of 250ms it ramps from 20 to 100% responsiveness. This can be a good compromise where it feels fast but takes the edge off the twitchiness.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I liked finding fuel, then driving in a circle until I ran out, filling up immediately and hunting down the next one. A grim world of Bus Survival!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Not bad at all for your first game! Keep it up!

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Fun concept. However it lacks things to do, and as such gets boring after a while. Once you come of the road it lacks the challenge. Good Luck!

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

Handling is too sensitive, but I enjoyed it! Good job!

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice little game especially considering the tight time limit.
I agree with everything pkenney said, that is some quality feedback I have nothing to add to. I would like to emphasize his point of lacking objective though. I didn't know what the goal was either.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:26am

nice game but the controls were very frustrating - it turned too fast - nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]