Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Adventure of Wania Romanow

by kristoverek - Jam Entry

WARNING: possible really bad english {

Year 2031, ten year ago occured second outbreak of Ebola however this time disease had spread
around entire world, through unsuccesfull efforts of creating a vaccine and tests on people, virus
started to mutate, changing bodies and minds of infected. Just in six years 90% of humanity has
vanished... It was collapse of humanity.
Only few who survived were left to live in this hell.

My name is Wania Romanow , i'm going to survive.
};

List of combos:
- Z - attack
- X - defence
- Z X X Z X X - 360 noscope
- X Z Z X Z Z - heal

You can navigate through menu either with mouse or Z/X keys.

Staff:
- Dusakus - code and some sprites
- kristoverek - UI, backgrounds and some sprites
- Telmore - code
- Verethragna - music and sound effects


* additional post-jam version link (dynamically updated): http://www.d-net.ovh/ld/34/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#462Humor(Jam)2.73
#578Audio(Jam)2.85
#627Graphics(Jam)3.23
#659Theme(Jam)3.53
#863Innovation(Jam)2.59
#871Mood(Jam)2.63
#993Overall(Jam)2.70
#1041Fun(Jam)2.28

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04pm

This game really needs a tutorial of some kind.

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

That was... interesing. From Ebola outbreak to kozachok dance-off? Sure, why not:) Visuals are actually not bad if a bit inconsistent, but gameplay could use some improvement.

Moebius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Interesting sound/visual combination. Reminded me somehow of SOS' games. Also there seems to be a bug when the game is over saying something like "the game might be broken now" ;)

kristoverek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Moebius - it's not a bug, it's a feature!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Didn't know what I was supposed to do... still won? Mechanics should be clearer and it needs some balancing (I just spammed Z)
The animations look very good though!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Uih...complex game. I never thought you have a shop in it to unlock new weapons :-D ! Great idea.

Only i would make it round based.

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:08am

Really interesting little game, i like the concept of having a 2 button input for active time battles. Your shop seems to be broken as i could buy all the upgrades the first time i was in there. I did enjoy having a kozachok dancer as the here, nice to see something fun and different for the player avatar.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:39am

nice pixelart on the gui, have to report a bug that the game is broken after about a minute in (:

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47am

It has some mood but yeah hard to play really ^^

You can really polish it I think to make it smoother to play ;)

Well done anyway!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:50am

I have no idea what is happening. I think that's the point? :3

Big fan of dadaism, so I appreciate some LoLRandom. The gameplay was pretty random too, though? There wasn't an apparent strategy other than alternating between spamming the heal combo and shooting... without any foreknowledge of what the enemy is doing, or more precise timing controls, there's no way to effectively block. Also, I seemed to have 99 Moneys from the start, so I could buy everything? Not sure if that was intended, but it sorta broke the game.

Also. the game interface kinda suffered from the 2-button control scheme, rather than building on that simplicity in a positive way; especially given that I didn't see any achievements, you could probably have simplified each option to a button, like you did in combat, instead of scrolling.

Anyway, thanks for putting together this bizare little trip into Post Apocalyptic Neo-Moscow, and keep at it!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I have no idea what's going on. Five stars! (for theme at least)

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28pm

The idea is pretty good but i ve got an error while playing.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Haha I enjoyed this. I also went for a fighting game this LD.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Very random.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:51pm

(score refers to the original version)

The graphics are good and the music is absolutely brilliant. The character reminds me of Omsk Bird. Gameplay is standard fighting game fare, and took a while for me to get into, but seems to work. Unfortunately, I got a "target scene missing" screen, and had to close the window and start again to be able to play.

The backstory is kind of entertaining, but doesn't seem to have a lot to do with the actual game.

I tried the updated link as well. The various upgrades are cool, but I can't figure out how to proceed from there.

You've got the start of a good and cool-looking game here, it just needs a lot more stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]