Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

No Birds In This Game

by Grahhhhh - Jam Entry

Game was made for the theme "2 button controls" and "grow", but the growing part is kind of a stretch. You control an ant with a sweet tooth. Each level the goal is to collect the candy by selecting which command to perform.

The only two keys to play this game is 'left' and 'right'.. not 'a' and 'd', because that would make it 4 controls wouldn't it?

This was my first attempt at more serious animating, feedback is appreciated. Made in approximately 48 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#207Humor(Jam)3.31
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#573Fun(Jam)3.09
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#785Graphics(Jam)2.88

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Really creative, I like the concept! I'll be honest, I was lost as to what to do for the first ghost level (I just snuck between the holes :P).The sound effects are kind of odd, but not too problematic. Good job!

argowen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09am

At first I wasn't sure if I was going through a help screen then it all fell into place I loved the little platforms the ant didn't

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13am

Awesome! This is one of the funniest games I've seen so far. Please make more like this in the future!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14am

Forgive my ignorance but I made it to level 5 thinking I was still in the tutorial screen lol. I didn't particularly like the approach to 2 button controls but the game seems decently polished. Good work!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46am

I beat the first couple levels without actually knowing what was going on. It wasn't until the third level that I saw the tiny ant on the screen. I initially was thinking that the controls (essentially scrolling through the list) were a detriment, but I realized that's what made it challenging, in a good way. Good polish. Well done.

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:53am

I spent my first 2 minutes of gameplay laughing on the music! So epic hahaha!

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:31pm

The game was great! You made a cool concept too. :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Pretty enjoyable game! I think level 9 is broken though..the button didn't work. I loved the graahhh track too

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:22am

Lots of obstacles make it fun to play! Challenging too! :D

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:05am

Nicely done! At first I was a bit lost, didn't see that the ant was already on the screen. Haha. But in the 2nd stage it made it clear. Interesting design!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Got a "Flash is not responding" message...

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:19pm

My only gripe is that the ant is way too small to be seen on screen but I loved the way you worked around the two button limitations.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:21am

God, that ant is TINY. Otherwise, a pretty interesting game with no birds in it. Great job!

Anachron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:09am

Agree the ant could be bigger and a level select would be nice! Clever game mechanic though, and a unique take on the 2-button theme

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:42am

Oh, no! At level 11, if I die, it doesn't let me retry the level! What an unANTicipated BUG!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

Pro:
+ Grahhhhh music is awesome
+ Creative concept
+ Animations seem nice, the moving platform was a bit weird though...
Con
- I felt it was a bit awkward to chose the commands with only right and left, but it is a clever way to fit the theme
Obs:
o It was hard to understand what was going on in the beginning, maybe if the ant was a bit bigger would help?
o There could be another background... xp

FANTastic job!

drludos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:40am

Nive entry, I love it! The music is just awesome, and totally set the mood! The game itself is quite original. The control system is a bit odd a first, but I quickly get used to it and got hooked up to complete the levels! ANTastic entry :)

My only complaint would be at the tiny size of the ant. I know you'll grow it in later level, but during the first level, I didn't figured out that something moved. You should put a red blinking arrow following the ant during the first level, so everyone can understand that we are controlling a moving ant before reaching level 2 :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:06pm

The ant is very tiny and hard to see. I wasn't even sure I was playing until I was a few levels in. I'm not sure the theme works well with the game, but you did follow it.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:50pm

You really stuck to the two button challenge well: top marks for that! Great idea to do puzzles with this control system. Overal nice idea and odd sense of humour :P

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Good job! I like the concept, and I thought the presentation was solid as well.

I also really appreciate the lack of birds in this game. Many games will *claim* to be bird-free, but as soon as you get a few hours in and you're thoroughly invested, lo and behold: birds suddenly start to appear EVERYWHERE. It's really a shame, and I'm so thankful for small indie games like this one that can take a different and (dare I say) more personal approach. Kudos to you for having the courage to stand by your convictions rather than simply taking the easy route and pandering to the "all birds all the time" mainstream audience, as most AAA game studios would have done in this situation.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]