Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mecha Planeta

by Zeriver - Jam Entry

Mecha Planeta

Controls:
Q - activate/deactivate fighter drones
W - activate/deactivate collecting drone
Mouse - click on enemies to shot them

You are playing as a Mecha Planeta - planet in 100% made of mechanical parts and habitated by robots.
You are flying through galaxy trying to expand and build yourself bigger and stronger. You have collecting drone which collects metal from nearby space scrap-heap (this makes you bigger). You also have fighter drones that protect you from enemies but that is not your only way of defending yourself, you also have a big laser canon that deals with hostile ships pretty fast.
Unfortunately everything consumes energy so you must be vary of using your drones and laser canon.
Oh and enemies, by shooting at you, decrease your size ;)

Have fun.

Usually i enter compo but this time i didn't finish in time.

████ Builds for OSX and Linux have not been tested yet and might be unstable ████
-----------------------

-So far this game has no end goal
-Yes, i konw that your size can have negatice value, but that is kinda fun so i left this in game, at least for now
-I used background music provided by this kind gentleman http://soundimage.org/sci-fi/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#564Audio(Jam)2.88
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#781Theme(Jam)3.33
#783Overall(Jam)3.02
#812Mood(Jam)2.76
#839Fun(Jam)2.73

Comments

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Very original ideia. Good work!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Not bad! Definitely a good original idea that fit the themes well. Not sure if the lag in input was intended (a cooldown, maybe?) but it took a bit of adjustment.

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Thanks for the feedback on Parallax, man!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Innovative. Any plans to finish the game?

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Fun concept. would like the ability to craft more miners for faster mining :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Very nicely done for a 1-man team in that limited time !

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45pm

First of all thank you all for commenting and playing my game :)

@triello
Sure thing m8

@utoxin
Yeah, there is a small cooldown when activating/deactivating fighter drones

@MintArcade
Hmm i would like to expand this game and if i get some free time i will do so. Originally there was going to be much more, like beacons in Faster Than Light, where you can upgrade/build more drones or choose you next destination (and even more).

@nopogo
Hah, yeah that was originally in my plans but i didn't have enough time ;)

@crucknuk
Thanks, it was really a challange especially it was my first Unity game (not including Roll a Ball tutorial game xD)

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Any plans on launch it on the future? A finished/polished version of this worth a lot!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I like the original idea, congrats

Christian S. says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

The OS X download contains a Windows application. I think.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

The link for OSX is the Windows build. Please fix the link to point to the Mac OS X build. Thank you! I want to play this game.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

On linux the orange square do not contain any information, quite annoying, and the game crash on exit. Still a nice creation need, it's really can be improved. Keep going.

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

The concept was a lot of fun and the sound effects were cool too. Good job!

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

This is an interesting concept, & one which definitely has space for expansion into other related mechanics beyond the scope of LD. Be interested to see what further development could turn this into!

Only (minor) critique of the game so far is that enemy ships can shoot you from off-screen before it's possible to click on them.

Kazura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12am

Really interesting concept, liked the gameplay and the musics ! Good work ! However to me the enemies are too long to appear, that makes the progression a bit too slow

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:42pm

@Xinelu
Yep, as soon as i will get some free time im going to work on this project.

@Polith Games @Linus123xbb
Thx :)

@Christian S. @andyman404 @Dokthar
Yeah sorry about that, i uploaded new builds. Hopefully this time they will work for you :D

@Rob_Haines
Thank you! Yeah, shooting off-screen is something i will have to fix someday. In overall i will have to change lots of things if i want to expand this game.

@Kazura
Thanks, i will crank up difficulty when i will work on this game later

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Nice theme aplication, not very fond of the star wars resemblance

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50am

Sorry, I couldn't get the new Mac build to run. I think I've seen this issue before with .RARs and Mac apps. A .ZIP file might work better. I was able to use a PC to play the Windows version though. Good work! I like the robot voices. The planet thing looks cool.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Great audio, nice idea. Good work! Love the main model.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Very cool idea! I like that extra bit of depth the game has compared to just shooting baddies. I think if you add more to it this could be a very interesting game. Nice job!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Original and very enjoyable! Great entry!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:20pm

"The application can't be open" error on Mac OS X 10.11 =(

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Original ideia. But need more work!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:16pm

@tribrain, @DesignerNap, @The Merge Conflicts @Hot Box Games @OrangeeZ
Thanks

@andyman404
Thank you for all your effort to play my game and feedback

@ChaosCult
Sorry about that i uploaded 7zip version, maybe it will help you run game

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Innovative use of micro management and game felt pretty polished overall. In its current state I don't find the game very fun though.
With some more work it could turn into a fun game :)

Kushulain says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:26am

Collectors seems to collect even when deactivated

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:03pm

I wonder if it was bug but when I had my collector drones inactive, there still would be some collector coming from my planet. Activating collector drones didnt seem to do anything o.o
Nice game idea though, got around 3+ size and then couldnt grow it anymore :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:25pm

7 is HUGE!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:43am

good start but in the end not much of a game here - controls are confusing and the constant activating/deacitvating/low power got annoying - good effort

Jace239 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/26/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-03/

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Pretty interesting concept for the game! The graphics and audio are great too! :)

The game feels a bit slow, though and some balancing could be done with energy and resources gathered.

This could become a quite interesting strategy/resource management game with more work!

Congrats and Cheers! :)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:10am

i liked tha kindow star treky theme but the gameplay lacks a lot of things. try polishing it a bit

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]