Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wargraph

by kirilllosev - Compo Entry

Wargraph is my game for Ludum Dare 34. One of the themes was "2 button controls" so I made it.

You probably need some time to get the idea of controls. Give it a chance :)

It's a dogfighting game highly inspired from Luftrausers by Vlambeer.

The game features a dynamic gameplay, lots of shooting, a swarm intelligence, 2-button controls and one boss.

I know it's not good to say, but for maximum dynamic turn on some aggressive music like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMfLhDFT8Uk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Fun3.74
#149Overall3.71
#206Innovation3.62
#229Graphics3.61
#246Mood3.33
#338Theme3.90
#349Audio2.93
#629Humor2.00
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46am

Amazing. Id go easy on the flasy though.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

This is a really cool game! I can see the Luftrausers inspiration, but just a little bit. The swarms of enemies are gratifying to kill once you learn how to, but I will say its a bit hard to learn how to control. Great job though!

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44am

Clever movement. Kinda feels like stunt flying; stalling your engine and tumbling before restarting it mid flight. It's kind of hard tell yourself apart from the enemy planes though, and some sort of health indicator would be nice. Otherwise, nice work!

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

I love this game, but contrast screenflashes not a best idea. :(

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Pretty awesome! Challenging, but once you get used to it, it's not that bad. Also I like the art and it's pretty polished ^^

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55am

I've got some hard time with the control scheme at start, but after a while, the game is really fun. The swarm effect of enemies is excellent.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Definitely, I like it. Wonderful graph, physics, and gameplay.

bering says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:55pm

I like it, nice gameplay, the swarm stuff is really cool and the gun sounds great

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Really intense! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

scars377 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

amazingly awesome game! eyes hurt through

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

This game is great, the artstyle is minimalistic, and I love it. The audio is a good start, but the game would really benefit from a soundtrack, good take on the theme, smooth and crisp gameplay and controls, although the ship is rotating just a tad too fast.

Not very innovative, great mood, and overall it was a very enjoyable experience.

Thank you for a great game and experience, and I hope to see more of your games in future Ludum Dares!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Is this how Luftrausers is supposed to be played? Whatever it is, it was pretty damn awesome! The background made you feel like you were going WAY faster than you really were!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49am

Great job with the 2-button theme! I didn't realize you could do satisfying dogfights with only 2-buttons, but it felt so good tearing through hordes of enemies!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48am

Great work. The turn speed and controls are just right for a smooth dogfighting experience. I had some issues with the boss seemingly not taking damage once I got him to a small ball. It could've just been my bullets not hitting him, though.

Biggest issue I had was that there didn't seem to be a way to tell how much more damage I could eat up. A red flash when my health is low, or a healthbar somewhere on the screen would've been really helpful.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:45am

Takes a while to learn how to control your plane, but once you get used to it it's not that hard. Good game feel, great action, fast and satisfying. Great job, keep it up!

emmes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49am

Weird controls. You're right, it takes some time, but then it actually works nice. The gameplay feels really great, it doesn't seem that easy to beat the game, but possible.
Graphics is minimalistic, but too high contrast for my taste. Sound effects are good, but you already know that the game would benefit greatly from some driving music :-)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:28am

Really liked the subtle background that was only really visible when the lightning(?) flashed. Found it a little too fast for me, yet I seemed to get really far and take so many hits that I was wondering for a while if it was possible to fail. Nice job.

crazya02 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Love the mood going on, and a really innovative concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]