Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

by Kahztein - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#631Humor(Jam)2.44
#633Audio(Jam)2.65
#840Innovation(Jam)2.63
#841Graphics(Jam)2.74
#864Mood(Jam)2.65
#945Fun(Jam)2.56
#960Overall(Jam)2.74
#994Theme(Jam)2.78
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

For some reason it will tell me there is no root when I click on the windows .exe file? I cannot get to the game so maybe you're missing a file..?

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

I didn't seem to get any gold from killing enemies...

Kahztein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

Hmm, looks like Knights don't earn coins, I'll work on that.
And I don't know why it is saying no root :/

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11am

Nice concept, keep working

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I overall really enjoyed the game and definitely needs more feedback from other players.
I really want to see the diffrent kind of fortresses people can build and also more and diffrent kind of enemy units.
Furthermore the controls feel a bit clunky on the barracks, when you want to select an unit you also spawn another knight.

also game maker says that there is no ending.

stefenism says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I had a little trouble figuring out what to do...but I feel like there is plenty of room to grow with this idea.

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Sadly, I don't think post-jam version is coming.
Cute little game anyway.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Nice idea yet very badly executed. The camera control with the mouse easily goes nuts, expecially when you want to select a material to expand your castle, the gameplay itself is nicely done but the camera movement really made it impossible to upgrade the castle, I'd get defeated before I could place a block. Overall, some work to the main gameplay and some obvious camera fixing would greatly benefit the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]