Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Thousand Blades

by [email protected] - Compo Entry

(Mostly unfinished, but you can play this as a fighting game with a friend)

A Thousand Blades (actually, there are less than 40) is a casual action game where you fight enemies Swiss army knife style.

To battle successfully, you need to figure out the advantage and disadvantage of each weapon, at which angle to collect and stack up your weapons, and at which direction to approach your opponent.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

* Please note that:

- Shield, Blunt, Swords, Bows and Arrows, are working, while

- Staff, Bomb, Boot, HealthPack have not yet being coded to work for this prototype.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah it's unfinished. I intend to develop it into Agario styled type of multiplayer game, as well as having a single player campaign mode against AI.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Innovation3.78
#352Fun3.32
#673Overall3.00
#860Theme3.05
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15am

Got a 404 not found on twitch.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

Got a 404 error :( !

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

Wish I had friends to play this with... well done!

emmes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Web Link does not work - goes to Source page :-/

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

So is this just unfinished?

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

ohhh noooo... a co-op game? That means to go find someone to play it with. :P Seriously though, it's a good idea. Would be better with sound. Also maybe if there was a challenge to picking up weapons.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

This is a really fun multiplayer experience. Figuring out how the weapons interact was interesting.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31am

Hey jackson! Nice game :-) I'm interested to see where you go with this...

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:41am

Pretty cool idea but its not very fun at the moment. maybe add health?

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Not sure how to play except run into each other. Like the art though that looks like it might be imported? Look forward to seeing a full release in the future with AI and multiplayer as described!

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Looks good ! ;)

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:20pm

I love multiplayer local games. And this one seems to have a great potential. The idea is pretty good, however I would have tried with something smaller to get a better finish off. For example some kind of animations would make the game a lot more alive because the current "sticker" effect seems strange (any dimension at all, no shadows, no light, just flat colours). There is also some strange interactions like the sword beats everything and if the collides with another sword nothing happends (maybe to make both dissapear would had been better, or push both players back, idk).

Very very insteresting concept anyways, I would give a it a more serious try as you wrote in the description.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]