Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tri-Fission

by Reisen - Compo Entry

Play as an infinitely sub-dividing spaceship in this shmup with an experimental control scheme! Divide and grow yourself, and hopefully one of your offspring will survive the hell... Bullet hell.

//=========================================

This game covers Two-Button Control, with a tiny amount of Growing and a touch of Generations. Sure, you can use Left + Right for the two buttons on a shmup, but come on.

//=========================================

Controls:
1. Press X to split yourself into 4 mini-you
2. Use C to select a mini-you
3. Press X again to transfer your hitbox to the mini-you, and launch the others as projectiles.

As with these games, your hitbox is the small 5px dot.

//=========================================

Code: Visual Studio 2012 + Monogame 3.3
Graphics: Paint.NET
Font: 8 Bit Wonder (http://www.dafont.com/8bit-wonder.font)
SFX: bfxr

//=========================================

EDIT:
-. Mac port added (14 Dec 2015, 4:58 AM GMT)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#22Innovation4.17
#200Fun3.57
#202Overall3.62
#372Theme3.86
#425Humor2.48
#444Mood3.00
#481Audio2.63
#654Graphics2.79

Comments

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:22am

Hey interesting concept

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

Quite difficult, I had trouble figuring out what was going on. But it is an interesting concept. I like the sound, and the ending :)

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Woah, my favorite game I've played so far. Really cool. But super super hard. I lost all my lives before I even knocked one arm off! Great Game.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

Interesting concept....

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Looks really cool. Will there be a mac or web build so I can play?

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

An interesting mechanic, but using it effectively seems very hard. Otherwise, the game is looking a bit plain.

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

@Fanttum: Good news! I've just added a Mac build. :)

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57am

Interesting mechanic, a bullet hell is still a bullet hell hard. Some music would have wrapped it up very nicely.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58am

This seems interesting, but I can't play since my x key only works about 20% of the time! lol. Nice concept though ^_^

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

This thing is so addictive and fun! Great concept, well executed fun little game. It takes a lot of careful timing to get good at. I love it so much I'm going to keep it on my hard drive.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

Nice concept, a little bit too frustrating, but nice work

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44am

Awesome idea and very well executed, I like how unforgiving it is without being unfair. All it needs is a high-octane soundtrack ;D

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51am

Erf, I have a crash at the launch :/
(but also I'm on windows xp ...)

r8berto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

That subdividing mechanic it's really cool. Nice idea.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

@Reisen good news I got it,
Bad news.... it crashes on the title when I try and move :/

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Great concept! Too hard though

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

Really good game ! Cool idea!

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Wow, really love the concept

would love to see it evolve in a full fledged game

Baknik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Very innovative, but hard to get used to.

Wandermayer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

great take on the genre. I'm not much of a bullet hell player but the pause and move mechanic gives me chance to think I usually miss, haha

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

Wow, that's a nicely refreshing take on the bullet hell genre. I really enjoyed it! Ridiculously hard, as it well should be. I hope you take this concept further after the jam!

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

Very weird idea! I like it!

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Really interesting concept and pretty fun to play, if a bit punishing. However, I felt like the two-button control theme was just stuffed in there, and it ended up hampering the design. It would have been much more fun on a controller with an analog stick and a button. Also, the audio was really grating. Consider finding samples on the internet instead of synthesizing sounds. Just to nitpick (everything else was good besides what I mention), it could have benefited from a player healthbar.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Second pattern is the easiest. Third pattern is very easy too. First pattern is passable even for noobs even though it is harder than the following two. But the fourth pattern... It is the definition of insanity for this control scheme.
Graphics are clear, ship's hitbox is easily visible, audio may be a bit annoying, but it is something you get used to. The lose message is a bit too depressing.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very fun and creative! I actually wasn't expecting such depth from such a simple control scheme. The design space that could potentially come out of this is very intriguing!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Best game over screen! This is a really interesting mechanic, if a little confusing at first. It's fun cutting paths across the sky in short bursts. If I had to say something negative: the splitting sound got pretty grating after a while. But that's an easy fix. Good job on this.

Thembi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21pm

It seemed like bullets sometimes went through me without hitting, especially right after moving. This led me to believe maybe the color I picked made me immune to bullets of the same color that I picked, which would have been pretty awesome. But further testing disproved that. Even so, that could be one direction to take this if you ever care to.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice game mechanics, At first I was confused what to do but learned pretty fast :)
I wonder if some certain bullet hell game had something to do with the game idea ;)

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Thanks god for the 0'th life - it was the only reason why I was able to beat the game :D
I love the way that you teach the player how to move without using too much text - it was preatty brilliant.

The movement are really cool, and play suprisingly nice with the shmup mechanics. I would add though a time limit for choosing the next jump direction. It felt as I could stay in the slo-mo forever.

Also I was kinda expecting some interactions with the rgb colors of the triangles and bullets, but didn't notice anything. It might be just me though ;)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Interesting and original concept, although quite hard to get used to, great entry!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Really cool combination of mechanics. If you keep working on this after LD34, I think it could benefit from using more than 2 button controls (specifically for selecting) -- still, having the game slow down while selecting makes it totally work. Nice job!!

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:16am

Whoa. Have I seen anything like this before? This is with no doubt one of the most innovative game in this LD, and it's immensely fun too!

Mar 27, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Super unique game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/kf34--PMGMs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]