Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sumou no Kurieta

by fafastudio - Jam Entry

You're almost one : a sumotori !!
You and your mates finished your sumo's classes and before to begin practicing, you have to pass the final test : THE FOOD EXAM !
You need to eat a maximum of food to get big as a professional but be careful to the dishes you dislike otherwise you'll vomit violently..
If you miss good dishes too often , the chef will come kick your ass and tell you to go away, you don't wanna waste food especially when you want to become a real SUMOTORI !!

EDIT : We added the Android version, we actually think it's a good way to play our game ! :)
For the mobile controls, just use the right/left side of your phone/tablet, instead of arrow keys !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#120Humor(Jam)3.62
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#418Audio(Jam)3.19
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#565Overall(Jam)3.27
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

404 error on the Windows like, bro.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

It was ready but not published!
Thank you :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Haha very funny :) nice game

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Neat game! Reminds me of that Pokémon Stadium minigame...

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12pm

We had almost the same idea, but you did it better x)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

so many fat Sumotori
i liked the game, but at some point the foods became so similar that it wasn't visible anymore which one I was not supposed to eat.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Very funny, I like it a lot. Reminds me of WarioWare in many ways, from the crude graphics to the sense of humor. Great job!

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

very good take on this type of retro game - really consistent design from looks to music. good work!

PapaNof says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Oh my GOD ! It's the best game in the world ! Look at these cutes sushis meeeeen !

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Turns out I have a pretty poor short term memory! It's got a fun aesthetic, is challenging, and the music is great.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice game! In the higher levels some of the foods look too similar.

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Nice game !

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I like it! The graphics are nice and the game is funny :)

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:09am

Great polish! Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:24am

hahaha yea this was really nice... it became really difficult when they began to have multiple preferences :) I like the graphics and variation/addition of foods as the game progresses.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:55am

This game made me hungry! I love how the food have faces.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23pm

nice

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Nice game, though I can imagine the graphics being a bit better. What I didn't really like was the position of the hands being different vertically than the position of the shadows - that really confused my gaming intuition! Overall, pretty good! I like the sounds.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Loved this entry, nice and simple yet funny & fit the theme well. I think I'd puke like that at most of that food! Good job.

arzi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Fun game and a great idea! Surprisingly hard to remember which ones not to eat.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Haha I loooved the puke death animation :D Took me a little while to realize that each sumo had different dislikes, bit of a facepalm when I finally clicked.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Very very rebellious :) Love JP theme but art style is too hard for me :)

Also: Sorry for posting here - hope this screenshot will help to get "how to determine good or bad game" in Let's Play Simulator 2016 https://monosnap.com/file/MT3oKAT6AuHxGjcLiQozKRn0T9nwNL :)

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Thought the art was nice. Gameplay got boring quite soon :(

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Hey this is great fun lol.

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Another game of Sumos like ours! I think it's a funny game and the sounds & animations are hilarious :D Good job guys ;)

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Nice! Good graphics and quite funny, the gzmeplay is neat... :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]