Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slash to Victory

by Juin - Compo Entry

Using a Controller is Highly Recommended!

Controls:
Keyboard:
Arrow Keys - Move
Up/Space/D - Jump
S - Attack
Shift - Dash
C - View Stats

Controller :
Analog or Dpad - Move
A - Jump
X - Attack
Any Shoulder/Trigger - Dash
Select - View Stats


Can you grow your Power enough to defeat the giant evil eyeball and go on even further?

The Stages are all fully procedurally generated.
They go on infinitely, how far can you get? The giant evil eyeball awaits you after Stage 4!

Tips:
-Press down to fall faster
-Look for chests, they may contain health refills
-You can Wall Jump and Double Jump
-Armour is very powerful for its cost
-Dash on the ground to move faster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#95Fun3.78
#263Audio3.11
#325Humor2.71
#345Overall3.40
#416Mood3.05
#498Graphics3.06
#836Innovation2.47
#921Theme2.64

Comments

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Love it! I was killed by the evil eye this time, but i will surely be back. Awesome midi music! :D

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Really nice! good work.. I liked all the movements you can do in the game, but could not find a tutorial explaining the keys (like Dash for example). Anyway, I loved Rogue Legacy, and I think for a Compo entry you did an good job recreating it...

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Good game, Nice work

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Great graphics! Love this style <3

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Very nice work! Played through a few levels, killed the eye boss... Almost forgot I should play other games as well! :D

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Don't know what to say. I don't see the theme in the game, and it's an rip-off of Rogue Legacy?
Because the art is the same as Rogue Legacy, I cannot vote on this, as it isn't your own.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I played this for like an hour...the scaling is ridiculous. I wanted to play until I could one-shot the boss, only got it down to 5 shots though :P.

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33pm

One of my friends actually played it until he one-shot the boss.

Here's a Screenshot of his final Stats :
http://i.imgur.com/5aiU56t.jpg

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38pm

It looks fun. Any chance for a web or mac port so I can play?

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Super fun, but I'm not sure how I feel about it being a cloned game. Either way, kudos for putting it together in 48 hours. :)

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I'm not sure why people say it's a clone or even a rip-off of Rogue Legacy. It even hurts a little if you say it's not my own.
I made all the art, came up with the procedural generation algorithm, came up the enemy AI etc. all by myself.
Sure, i took inspiration from Rogue Legacy, but basically the only thing it has in common with it, is that you kill things with your sword in a Platformer.
That's like saying every Platformer, where you jump on enemies is a Mario Clone.

I just wanted to make a fully randomly generated Platformer with Progression elements, and i'm really proud of the result.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I played this for a LOT longer than I should to get back to that boss! Lots of fun. Proven formula for a reason! Also, I love how when the music ends it kinda just gives up. Adds a ton of charm! oh, discovered Dash on the bonus level. ;)

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Got to the final boss but didn't quite have the chops to take him down. Interesting upgrade system!

There's a lot here to this entry, with nice art, sound effects, music, and game mechanics w/ upgrades. Well done getting all that done!

The only criticisms I have are that I don't see a connection to the themes, and I felt like maybe the double-jump let me just run past a lot of the dangers and shouldn't be an option.

(Note: I see another commenter saying the art was taken from Rogue Legacy, but a google image search shows that game has different art so I am voting assuming he's incorrect.)

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Cool platformer. Lot of content. The only thing that I didn't like is the knockup of enemys on hit, they made the controls feel all weird for me.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47pm

This was a very nice game! I enjoyed every bit of it, I didn't read the full description, so I was excpecting an ending after stage 20 haha. Really a great piece of art!

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Nice work! I think you've done really well functionally here and managed to get quite a lot of features and mechanics working for a jam game.

I'd say in that area you're doing really well, I'd say your next step should be to practice polish and presentation =)

Well done!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:24pm

It was a lot of fun and satisfyingly long.

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:19pm

The game looks very good and polished! :) I think it's heavily inspired by Rogue Legacy, isn't it? Great work!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Wow, really cool game ^^ It looks like Rogue Legacy, but you have bring a lot of upgrades, so that's cool. Anyway, I have only two things to say: A fullscreen mode would have more nice, and the music is SO MUCH ANNOYING ! Other than that, really good game, well done ! ^^

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very, very good game! The diversity in the upgrade is great! The level design could've been a bit more diverse I think. Nice music too, I'd love a boss theme.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Great job, this is fun! I don't think anyone is saying you stole assets from Rogue Legacy, but I can see more than just genre similarities (the fact that the boss is very similar, the enemies look similar, the sword looks almost the same, it plays similarly). However, I don't think that takes away from the game you have made. You've made something really cool! Great work!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Pretty fun game, I wasn't sure how to dash. Good job!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Nice little hack n slash, that was surprisingly fun. Found it a tad confusing on what to do at first, but after a few plays really wanted to keep playing! :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Controls took a big of getting used to, but i found myself quite hooked after i lost to the giant eye for the first time, i had to go back and beat him! Solid entry!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I am one of those people who did not think rogue legacy was a good game, so I can't see myself giving you a good score for Innovation/Fun.. But I have to admit in all fairness, you did an extremely good job of replicating that game in such a short amount of time. Good job dude, keep it up!! I hope your next game idea is a little more unique though, so much potential.. ;)

VascoF says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Out of the 50 games I tried so far, I think this was the one I spent more time playing. I reached stage 15 I think, after defeating the boss for the third time.

It was a bit too easy, especially after you level up some times, but nevertheless it was enjoyable. Well done!

Hackbug says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:06pm

So, i test it, i love it :D very nice game.

For me :
Good points, the game is fun, controller played is pleasure, audio's cool.

Bad points, I don't know where the theme is. Ok it's an RPG like, so there is a Growing in your charactere progress. And for me, there is not enought level XD I want more please :p i play during 30minutes - 1hour :D

So good job ;)

Strike says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33pm

I am really sorry to admit that my first reaction was to laugh at yout title screen, only to discover a very rich game with very strong mecanics. The platforming controls are very good and reactive. The RPG elements make the game even more interesting. And on top of that you have proceduraly generated level. A really good game. Good job.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Such a nice game, besides im really such a huge on rouge likes game. I hope u can create it better in the future.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:29pm

I did not get from the game what theme you were going for. Growth and leveling make sense. I liked the fusion of IWBTG and Rogue Legacy graphical style. The tiles look weird in their repetitive pattern. An alternative wall tile design to break the symmatry could have gone a long way. The controls felt somewhat loose.

-bob
-bob

mat1er says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Ok so this is the 8th time I fight the eye boss, I think there's nothing more to see. Good game, really addictive, well programmed.

Rogue Legacy/20.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:59pm

A nice little platformer. Seemed like everything wanted to kill me!

dcRfj15 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:05am

Awesome! I died on the Eye boss the first time, but on my second attempt (continuing with the same stats I had achieved on the previous run) I made it to level 20. I had a fun time playing this. The Eye boss was an awesome challenge.

The upgrades felt a little overpowered. I was able to survive many of the later rounds even though I was acting very reckless. It would be nice if there was something which forced even high-leveled players to stay on their toes.
Overall great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]