Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hair Growth Shop

by maguera93 - Jam Entry

In a world full of balds, the old-time barbershop have to change and become the ultimate Hair Growth Shop.
Choose wisely your client and be sure he's bald if not it'll be serious consequences...

Game made by @AgeraMarc
Themes: Growing + Two Button Control

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#46Theme(Jam)4.31
#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#385Mood(Jam)3.37
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#562Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

nice game dude.

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Web version is not working, missing "HairgrowthHTML5.js"

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

nice game... =)
very fun...

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Good entry. Wish there was keyboard controls.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

I laughed a lot with some faces and sounds.
Simple and cool concept, good job!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Haha wow, this game is absolutely great! I laughed so hard when the wookie appeared, hahaha. Also the visuals of the game are amazing and give of a very cool mood! The game is very simple but tremendously solid, and seeing the hair styles changes and to watch the faces passing by is a lot of fun. Maybe add keyboard bindings as an after-jam addition? That way the real enthousiast can get even higher highscores :p Well done!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

nice game, the music is good, though the hair stuff wouldnt come out for me.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Yeah, would be nice with keyboard controls, but solid entry otherwise. Nice work!

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice game! So funny :D

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Made $2000, very cool game.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Hehe this is hilarious. I laughed, the chewbacca was a great addition!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I miss-click often to see/hear my boy Chewie :)
Like the game.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Cool entry! Love the sounds and the music! The faces are also hillarious! :D

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Nice use of joining the themes together.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Awesome setting, hilarous sound effects!

RadStar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Fun idea and nice execution of both theme, good job!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

need a win condition dude

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

Very fun game, though controls could be better. Adding wookie was a nice touch.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I had so much fun playing this game! I played until I revealed all the faces, haircuts and voice effects and... laughted a lot! Hillarious! Congrats :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Humor 10/10 xD
Good game keep up the work

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Was that Kim Jong Un? Very out there game. Good use of both the themes. I think this would also benefit from keyboard controls to ramp up the speed.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Good idea, well related with both themes ! Nice work !

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Played on my Android Phone and it works great. It's pretty clear this game was designed with that focus and both the simplicity and controls work great for it.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:39pm

I agree with doitle about Kim Jong Un :) Did I see Putin too? And someone from South Park? (All the faces seem familiar :) )
Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]