Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

WAR GROWTH

by Trasevol_Dog - Compo Entry

DON'T LET THEM PUSH IT!!!

Ever wondered if a war could be ended with the nuclear weapon? Me neither but in this game, that also ends the game so try to avoid it!

You only need the four directional arrows to play but you can use WASD instead if you're more comfortable with these.

Let the colorz penetrate your soul...


Let me know what you think!

EDIT: The Windows build is fixed now! Have fun!!
EDIT2: The hotfix is about a bug that let you lose after you won.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#77Mood3.80
#88Innovation3.89
#111Humor3.42
#133Overall3.74
#159Fun3.63
#169Audio3.40
#172Graphics3.79
#677Theme3.47

Comments

WastelandDan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I loved playing this game! It really was a sensory overload for me, so many things all over the place, though I think I did pretty good.

Featured this game in my first video from the LDJAM, you can check it out here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-gSLZ_fnkU

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Fun game, gets really hard really fast! The flashing colors don't make it any easier ;)

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

My Brain! This game is the core of all multitasking in the world, really nice game had a lot of fun!

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Awesome! Just like trying to defuse a bomb almost!

I love it!

kebabskal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Smart! I didn't expect to like this, but it was great :)

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Wow it was intense!
Mechanics of direction stack is just like one of my ideas for this Jam, great implementation=)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

This game is really interesting, never really saw something like this. It can get really frantic towards the end.

Borodar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

It reminded me DEFCON, nice idea! And colorz ;)

fractalbear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Wow, that was intense! Loved the art style and the sound + such an original concept! I wasn't sure what the side boxes did and I could go on forever, maybe I'm missing something. Overall excellent! :D

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Great entry! Very intense to stay focused on. The colors and the shaking and all is so well done. I couldn't exactly tell what doing the other actions accomplished. They didn't seem like a bad thing so I focused on the nukes.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I fucking love your bad music and sfx :D this game is fantastic, i want more :)

srakowski says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Wow really awesome/challenging game. Great use of the theme! Good job!

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Fun game, very challenging. Has a cool aesthetic too.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I love your graphics!

knason says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I loved this, really fun! well done! :-)

Reggianito says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Odd little game. Loved the graphics. Music got really repetitive after a while, but I was too focused on the game to care.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

S-C-R-E-E-N-S-H-A-K-E

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Once I finally worked out what to do, I really liked how fast paced the game becomes by the time more inputs start coming in.

fergarram says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Love the art

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Intense stuff! I love the effects, and I was really freaked out the first time the side buttons appeared!

torcado194 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:43pm

very interesting! i liked the aesthetic and idea. it got really intense!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Loved the colors! Great concept, and nice audio. Great arcade game overall! c:

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:40am

nice work!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Challenging, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:54pm

My absolute favorite thing about this is how the pattern-matching (or whatever you want to call it) for which sequence you are doing is very fluid, and allows me to make mistakes that change which pattern I'm going after. xD

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Thanks everyone for all the cool feedback!!

I actually kinda messed up what I wanted to do for this entry! I wanted to do a game about the terminal dangers of war and everyone'actions about it but that didn't communicate that well.
Some of you pointed out the side things didn't make you lose. They truly didn't, instead they kept you away from winning. On very top of the game window, there's a count of potential deaths. It is set to 1000000 at start and gets lower when you match patterns. When you don't match the side patterns, it gets higher again. You win when the potential deaths get to 0. But I made that countdown way too small and you simply couldn't pay any attention to it while playing cause your attention was already all over the place. So that was clearly wrong.
My original plan for the side things was that they would make the main middle ones faster if you didn't match their pattern. Then I thought it would make the game too hard. I should have gone for it anyway. With 15 minutes of balancing it probably wouldn't have ended that bad and at least it would have made much clearer sense.

BUT the game is still pretty fun and that's cool.

In the end, I do kinda consider this entry as a failure. I learned from it. I'll do better next time. See you then!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]