Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

An Uneasy Feeling

by zybit - Compo Entry

A game where fear grows. Navigate the world as the cloud of fear obstructs your view at critical points.

The game falls under the growing category. The fear grows (Literally the blob is scaling up) as time goes on.

Default Keyboard Controls:
Move Left - A
Move Right - D
Jump - Spacebar

Fear Meter: Fear meter goes up when out of "Fear free" and "Comforting" zones.

The Ooze: The green ooze causes the meter to go up by double.

Fear Free Zones: The only fear free zone in the game is the start area.

Comforting Zones: Under lamp posts with the particle effect the player will lose fear.

Spooky!!: When the fear meter maxes out the player gets "spooked" and runs around uncontrollably.

Sanity Meter: Sanity will go down by one every time you get spooked. The less sanity you have the faster you gain fear.

The game should work with a gamepad (tested with XBox One controller).

NOTE 12/14/2015 5:46 UTC - Some are having issues with the resolution and menus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#199Audio3.29
#202Mood3.41
#490Graphics3.07
#535Humor2.26
#655Innovation2.85
#823Overall2.79
#867Fun2.44
#914Theme2.74

Comments

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26am

Trying to build for Mac. Need to update unity on my machine though. :-\

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56am

OS/X version is up.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

i got very stuck on things but still one of my favorites so far. graphics and concept A+

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

Very good atmosphere. Took a couple of attempts to get used to how the character moves, but fun to play after that.

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

"Spooky!"

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Certainly the mood nailed it for this game, the music and graphics are a good match.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31am

Good graphics and effects!
On my PC, the mouse click is registering about 100 pixels above where it appears to be.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

I wasn't entirely certain what effected my meters, but I liked the character and the mood. Good work overall! Btw, not sure if it's a resolution issue, but I wasn't able to click the play button unless I placed my cursor well above the button.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24am

I am confused about what to do in the game... its difficult to understand what I'm supposed to do in the game.
I like the art and the music though! :)

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Confused in game, but the atmosphere is quite well done.

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34am

Not sure how this comes under 2 button control or growing.
The controls felt stiff, the jumping felt like I was on the moon, the button on the menu don't respond correctly to mouse position, the animation sticks sometimes and generally I don't feel I know what's going on. - There is no clear indication of what is affecting me in what way until I either randomly lose control or die.
The mood & audio were good however, even with limited graphics. Although possibly more sound effects could have been used.

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

It's really uneasy feeling when you start it 1024x768, click Play, and it exits :-P
Nice special effects!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

I can see you don't have a lot of experience with animating humanoids, so this is probably a good learning experience for you. It's always good to do something out of your comfort zone! :)

The responsiveness of the character was not really good, the time between pressing the jump-button, and actually jumping was too long.
The graphics and music create a creepy mood, it's really good.

Well done!!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I didn't understand what to do. But graphics and atmosphere is quite good enough

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]