Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drone, the Package Collector

by Pepejson - Compo Entry

I picked up both themes and tried to join them, so lets get started.

As Christmas comes the gifts must be delivered. Unfortunately the Red Fat Guy lost them somewhere in the lost city, in the desert. You have to control the drone to find them, however aura of this place makes your drone growing. You can shrink your drone, however it can't turn during shrinking. So u have to maneuver between buildings and collect holiday gifts.

Down arrow - change direction/rotate(you have to play to understand this steering :] )
Space - shrink.

Esc - main menu/exit
O - (During the game) reset highscore.
R - Restart game (after hitting a building).

Red arrow shows move direction, or move direction after shrinking
Green arrow shows main base. You collect gifts there.

Don't forget to post your highscores! :)
Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#352Innovation3.37
#551Graphics2.97
#562Theme3.63
#665Fun2.90
#673Overall3.00
#708Mood2.63

Comments

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Really cool game. A global Highscore would be great ;)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Gah! I feel like it's possible to master this with enough time, but the controls are not easy to learn.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46pm

good game.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

Interesting concept. As it is, it's incredibly hard. But still fun. I find myself enjoying exploring the landscape more than gathering gifts. Haha.

Something that would make it a little easier for me would be holding the space bar to shrink instead of tapping it. Otherwise, nice entry!

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

One key controls the directions is far more difficult than the traditional WASD controls. The concept is interesting though.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

I have to second Andrew there, holding the space bar would be a much smoother control scheme. Also, some visual indication of when I can turn would be great. something as simple as the drong turning red while unable to turn.

I'm not sure if it's intentional, but the presents grab onto the drone at random points and don't shift to the center. (I'm assuming you're setting the drone as a parent to the presents' transform, in which case you want to also set present.transform.LocalPosition = Vector3.zero;)

Finally, the present dropzone is far too small. I feel like a circle about 3 times wider than that square would have worked much better.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

I find it very hard to know on which direction you will turn on the next input. However, nice job.

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice game, i like the

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19pm

... concept (sorry for the double post ^^' I press enter a bit too soon)

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Nice look, rather scary challenge level, but an interesting test of that control mechanic.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:05am

uh, Highscore was only 1071, ups.
It was fun, but the growing/shrinking part, while beeing the main challenge, felt odd to me.
(Maybe you could have tied the "growing" to the amount of packages the drone carries. The more presents, the slower the controls but the higher the score multiplier when you deliver or smth like that. But you probably thought of that) All the best

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]