Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Unicell Manager

by PanKamil - Jam Entry

First of all: CHECK OUT OUR INSTRUCTION GRAPHIC ABOVE!

You are controlling inner workings of a unicell organism, which is growing bigger and bigger, eating plancton, fish, and people...

Collect molecules into vacuola, see carbohydrates being burnt by mitochondria, and save your nucleus from toxins!

You can move your organella by mouse, and upgrade them/build new ones by an action menu, opened by a right mouse button.

TEAM:
Kamil Kozłowski - design and programming,
Jakub Rogalski - programming and VFX,
Igor Debris - 3D graphics,
Mateusz Miągowski - music and sounds (100% original).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#41Innovation(Jam)4.03
#186Graphics(Jam)4.06
#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#726Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Very good idea and concept

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Good concept for a game. I like that the player has to do some strategy builder stuff but also manage this hectic space that involves physics bouncing things about. It may have been too quick paced and dense for me to get a good handle of what was going on. Perhaps including the graphics for the different elements in the little tutorial intro panel would have helped me understand more quickly. Overall, nice work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I played this for a while, but it was quite unclear when I could grow, an indicator for that could be useful, like absorb X energy so that I know what's going on. Otherwise, pretty fun little game, I only stopped playing when I got too crowded to have anymore space, heh. Also, it wasn't obvious at first that I could upgrade the individual organella as well (although right-clicking the nucleus did nothing) :)
Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

while playing this I kind of wanted to know more about the science about it. could get some narration in that regard.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Good game ! Graphics are nice, audio too. The concept is really good.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I liked this game for the most part, but there's no way to produce a new protein vacuole if you're out of protein and your last one is destroyed, though I guess that makes sense. Also, I'm not sure if there's a better way to deal with toxins than to block them from reaching your nucleus with your other organelles, but if there is, you probably should make it more known.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I'm really glad you enjoyed our game.

And yes, it's the only way to save your nucleus – sacrificing other organella. Also, it was fully intentional that you can't build anything when all your protein vacuola get destroyed :).

Kep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04pm

I really love this concept and the inclusion of real science education, but I found the game frustrating. I also think it could be quickly improved with some adjustments.

-If I am out of protein vacuoles AND out of protein, the game is over, please kill me.
-If there are nutrients in the cell, I should always be able to reach them.
-The cell always feels the same size. This would change if you shrink the organella a bit when the cell grows.
-Nucleus health regeneration. The other things can be replaced, but damage to the nucleus is a permanent regret.

You did great work and I wouldn't write so much if I didn't like it. Best of luck!

zamotany says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I really like idea, immersive game, good job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Love the concept. Yo've got a really cool setting. Good job with mood too :D

Pusty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:50pm

lol nice one!

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I think you need to make a Linux build as the Windows version run through Wine had no text.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:32am

Just awesome, really. 5 stars fun

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:06am

the game is awesome and you should totally share the source code :D

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:11pm

i like biology games very much! check out my first ludum dare game http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=49267

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Biochemist here, really like this game idea but its a lot of game rules to digest directly. Would be better if the player would face only one or a few new concepts per level and only start with one core game behaviour. Im still not sure if I understand how everything works after playing this a while. I would like to have some way to defend agaist toxins instead of sacrificing organells, add a peroxisome maybe? Expanding this game sounds very interesting (for me at least) with adding more and more organells and concepts per level, maybe playing with different cell types or coping with viruses, so much to add...

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:13am

The main menu was a little glitchy for me [running windows 7, some text was overlapping, and the buttons didn't work], but other than that, the game itself was cool.

I can tell you out a lot of thought into this, and overall I liked it. Nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]