Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Incredible Blobert

by rattower - Jam Entry

You are the incredible Blobert. Roll over stuff with WASD to consume and grow.
Your goal is to consume the town's skyscraper.


HINT: Attack green tanks at 10m blob size and blue tanks at 20m.


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Made this as a learning project for Unreal Engine 4. Might be a bit buggy here and there

---- 16.12.2015 ----
Fixed a little parameter that wouldn't accelerate the torque properly at higher levels.

Source Upload (and hopefully different platform support) coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#457Graphics(Jam)3.57
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#647Humor(Jam)2.41
#683Audio(Jam)2.32
#790Mood(Jam)2.80
#874Innovation(Jam)2.57

Comments

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

This game felt alot like katamari, except at a snail's pace. you went rediculously slow, that even when capable of consuming the tanks, you couldn't dodge the attacks and lost 15 hp in the process. it definitely would've been nice to move faster, for getting to the point in which you can roll up buildings took almost 15 minutes.

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Really enjoyed it ;)

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I wanted to make a Katamari Game but couldn't do it. Great Job man! It crashed one time on me but other than that it worked just fine.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52pm

‚ÄčThis is pretty fun!
It would be nice to have some kind of objective :)
Also, the turning can be really slow sometimes, especially when going fast.
But overall, this is a beautiful, fun game! :)

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I have to agree with Blobo, the amount of force that WASD applied felt like I had hardly any impact and it took too long to change direction. That being said, I did enjoy it and the graphics were great!

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Great job, graphics are nice, i love the colors !

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

This looks really fun, but unfortunately there is no linux version :-(.
(And it doesn't run in wine after 5 minutes of fiddling.)

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

It's funny

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Interesting premise but very slow-paced.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I like the mechanic a lot but the realization could be better. Sound effects also get annoying after a short while. I also like the graphics but in 72 hours could be done better.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Interesting concept, but really too slow. Well done ++

blurryroots says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Awesome game. Very much enjoyed slurping up the whole city, muhahaha xD I think some ridiculous up-beat music would have complemented the gameplay, but other then that great entry ;)

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:09pm

This is the first UE4 game I saw in LD. Could not get it to run. Will try on a team mates Windows box later.

-bob

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Fun and good game!

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:46am

Realy prety graphics. Its a good idea to add enemies to the katamari gameplay. The controls where weird, changing direction was prety hard. I think a mode dynamic and fast acceleration movements would be better. I died 4 times before finaly grow enough to eat tank, and then finishing the game. Keep up the good work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]