Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Garbage Run

by Dege - Jam Entry

Hi, my name is Omar and I am a garbage collector.
Imag Corp. controls my work, and I must be very accurate to not get fired.

Can you help me?
W or UP to go up
S or DOWN to go down
Full controller support.

Do not forget to empty the garbage bag or it will blow up!



Credits:
Serena Mantovani - @89sere89 - Graphic & Social media
Nicola Alberini - @niko12345678 - Graphic
Lorenzo Stanco - @lorenzostanco - Code, Music
Davide De Gennaro - @Dege - Code & UI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#197Humor(Jam)3.33
#317Graphics(Jam)3.79
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#424Audio(Jam)3.18
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#584Mood(Jam)3.13

Comments

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46pm

This has the potential to be very good, however I don't think it quite gets there.

the art and music were great, however I feel liek the sound effects were a bit off. Especially the "dumping garbage" one, it sounds so negative, I thought I was playing the game wrong until I realised that you only dump the correct coloured garbage automatically.

The spacing of the garbage is also not that great. It's impossible to get too far without missing tons of garbage because you arn't fast enoughto go and grab it all. Sometimes pieces spawn dirtectly opposite of each other, they are impossible to get then.

If those things were fixed I think this would be very fun though.

jangdan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

i love how you guys used limited colors for the art. makes it so... umm.. classy. this is something to learn.

nice soundtrack, too!

munchor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I tested it with OS X, and it works! Great entry, great humor, great graphics as well.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

I could see this being a really great mobile game. Would personally play it to kill time when on the go. Music, graphics, story all mesh really well together and genuinely made me smile. Nice job!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

hehe.. Fun little game. And yes, I did got fired. :P I started picking up all kind of trash and I guess it's a reason for that. Graphics looks nice, and the game works. Hence, the mood is definitely there. I would suggest that you change to sound for emptying the garbage bad, as I felt that it was something you shouldn't do. More positive sound maybe? anyway, good job! :)

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I liked a lot!Nice work ;D

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I like the basic mechanics and premise of this game and it has some promise. The challenge however is a bit stumped by the fact that you can't collect all the garbage.

The animation for dumping garbage made me think I failed at first so that probably needs to be a little clearer

Rough edges but those can always be smoothed out, keep it up!

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Confirmed to work on linux with some graphical issues (NVIDIA).

I liked the graphics but I think it could use some more gameplay after that. Like upgrades or enemies and these things. If you put a bit less time into the graphics and some more to these components it probably still would have looked decent ^^

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I agree with the comments below. It is good fun! and yes, I did think that the sounds meant I was doing something wrong!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I love it, the animation, sound and graphics is very nice. The controls were smooth.

The garbage seems to be placed randomly so often times is physically impossible to collect all of them which is not very good IMHO. The game was a bit confusing initially, I thought you have to categorised the garbage but turns out I need to collect everything and it would automatically dump the correct ones to the correct bin.

Apart from those I had a good time playing the game. Overall you've done a very good job!

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:51am

Kind of a shame it's not possible to collect all garbage and not get fired. That's life for you.

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59am

It fit the theme really well and was a very interesting concept. Graphics were nice.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Nooooo! Omar is fired ='(
Liked the game.
@Ayaya33 saying smart things, consider listen to him carefully=)

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Pretty nice entry :)

As it's already been said, the main problem of the game is the audio feedback is the "dumping garbage". I really had the impression to do something wrong.
I had fun with the game though, and the you are fired stuff at the end is quite cool :)

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:15am

Thank you all for comments and suggestions. We are really happy for all this nice feedback! Yeah, you are absolutely right about the "dumping" sound, unfortunately we didn't notice it before submitting, we were in such a hurry! Next time we will listen carefully to all sounds *after* the first time while creating them.

@Ayaya33 @puddelipip @jackyjjc @Drury: Great suggestions, guys. In fact a tweak on the random garbage generator algorithm that avoids vertical aligned trash couldn't be so difficult. We didn't thought about it.

@munchor: Thanks! We removed the "(untested)" label.

@WebFreak001: I had graphic libs issues on Ubuntu 64 bit, solved installing a couple of i386 packages. Don't know if it's the same for you. We'll try to export both for 32 and 64 to see if it solve the problem. And, still today we think that we made the right thing focusing a little bit more in graphics, instead of putting more gameplay: we're quite sure we wouldn't had time to add "decent" upgrades/enemies, probably we would come out with a uglier game with no upgrade nor enemies anyway :) However, we'll sure add that stuff if we'll develop the idea post-jam.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06am

I really like this game! I think that it should be made possible to not miss things if you're really good; currently, you will always miss things so it's not possible to avoid getting fired. I liked the music and the graphics a lot, very nice and simple. Great job! :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:47am

Good fun. I agree with some of the other commenters that it's a bit frustrating that it's never possible to get all the garbage - no matter how well you play, you'll lose eventually.

But overall, great mechanics and good polish - good job!

adaFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:45am

This feels really polished for a game jam game. The occasional clusters of garbage that are placed so that it is impossible to pick up all of them are a little frustrating. Poor Omar inevitably seems to get fired. XD

Ludic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:19am

Good visual and funy game

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

All the useful comments have already been made so I will do do a +1 on those and just say nice work!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Good game!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Nice game. My only complain is that the game its unfair. I mean, you are bounded to the game randomness. But its my opinions, most of the games follow that rule, so yeah XD dont listen what i said hehe.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I liked it. But I don't understand why I lost. I hit as much garbage as I could and I hit every dumpster. I assumed it'd dump what was supposed to be automatically but I ended up getting fired? It is still pretty interesting.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I really like it, the idea and design and graphics. Was a bit hard to reach all the pieces of garbage, and the recycle stations were a bit too far apart. Would have been nice if something more happened the longer the game progressed, like faster speed or something.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:09am

Oh Omar, I've failed you. I love the look of this game, nice job :)

Jace239 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:16am

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/29/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-04/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]