Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beard Fighter

by Big Cow - Jam Entry

Compete in the international beard-growing contest to win the affection of your loved one!

Use the 'b' and 'n' buttons to do everything! More instructions in-game.

Development and design by Daniel Black @BigCowStudios
Art and design by Ben Moss
Audio and design by Robert Shaffer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#19Humor(Jam)4.21
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#229Audio(Jam)3.53
#283Mood(Jam)3.51
#423Graphics(Jam)3.63
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#719Innovation(Jam)2.83

Comments

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Fun concept, the music and graphics were awesome. However it could've been a bit longer. Good job!

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Awesome game! Also pretty funny.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I just broke my keyWoard. I caM Mot play agaiM :((

Codexus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Good humor, nicely done, the gameplay is a bit too basic though.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Good game, it is very funny

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Very simple gameplay but the art is great and the concept and execution are very funny.

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Very nice take on the theme! Graphics and audio are absolutely fantastic.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

very great game ! very funny and I think nobody think to the beard for the theme :)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

A fun spamfest cased in bearded awesome.

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I had so much fun bearding! The final round was hard, mainly because my fingers started to get tired.
Great idea, great game!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Hahhahaha, loved it. Really cool and funny idea and pretty well executed! Congratulations :D

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

So much beard power!!!!!

As an adult Asian male though, this game made me self-conscious.

Well made game,I hurt my fingers though trying to hit the keys so quickly so shortly after participating in a LD. But I suppose that's just like growing a beard in real life though, right?

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Simple, but good music and funny art it makes a fun game.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:08am

Really fun game! Nice interpretation of the theme :) Loved the ending music as well.

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:41am

Epic Beard Game!! very funny, love those taunts after each match!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:29am

I loved the art style in this! Really nice use of the theme, too.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Funny game :) i beat the turbo mode thanks to years listening to death metal... Nice original choices on visuals ans music, and nice match with both themes!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Absolutely hilarious concept and great use of both themes. Loved the subtle Street Fighter references too :D

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:36pm

great idea for game!

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Awesome job on Beard Victory! Hilarious drawings and theme.

FireTwin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Funny use of the two themes! It's also quite fitting for the current beard growing craze these days!

I loved the Street fighter style you got going there, especially that referee voice :D Would have been cool to see some sort of combo system though, but that might have been kinda hard to fit into this game. Nice one!

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Haha, I have the same beard for the Santa's mood on holidays)))
After hilarious "Coffee Quest" I was looking forward to play your next game. "Beard Fighter" is funny and artistic, too, and I liked B/N button titles. A gameplay was pretty simple, though.
5 for Humor and Mood. Good work!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:36pm

This is such an amazing idea. I don't like button mashing, but this whole scenario just had me grinning. I made it to the final boss on turbo, but kept losing by half a meter's margin. The graphics and soundscape are so perfect though.

hexagore says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Loved the hand drawn art and was rather tickled by the 8-bit pcm audio samples - very authentically retro arcade. Gameplay is obviously somewhat simple but as a quick fun little distraction it works perfectly

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Haha, very fun idea for a game! Awesome graphics, and well cared GUI. But I think I've got my finger broken ;D haha. Fantastic overall!

rodobodolfo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:50pm

This was awesome and legitimately fun! loved the audio and music too.

Muel says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:10am

"You must defeat beard long to stand a chance"
I laughed sooo hard hahahahaha

It's a very funny game, it's worth for the laughs. Also, very tight controls and the difficulty is well ajusted - you mash buttons, but not with insane speed that ruin your keyboard or your wrists.

The only thing I would change is the shake screen effect on the growth stages, it gets kinda annoying to see. Maybe it would be better a sound response.
Something like "BEARD GROWT WAAAAAAARGGHH!!1" xD

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Simple yet effective gameplay, I had a huge retro feel with this. The graphics were fantastic and the whole thing was my type of humor! Very thing works well together! Love it :D

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:56am

Cool game! It was really funny to notice and compare the it with the old Street Fighter game feeling hahaha!
Nice one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]