Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bee & Flowers

by Ingon - Compo Entry

A simple jump around game. Up to high jump, left/right to control. More flower time, more points. The idea was the flowers to grow and die, but not enough time for that. I spend my time mostly on graphics.

OSX only, sorry!

Update: Should now work on 10.10 too, it was a single class to generate randoms which is not available there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#620Humor2.04
#646Audio2.15
#649Graphics2.80
#745Mood2.54
#795Fun2.64
#809Innovation2.52
#823Overall2.79
#903Theme2.81

Comments

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

Not a bad little game! I think the code for the buttons has a little glitch in it though, when already tapping up, it becomes very hard to move left or right, nearly impossible without dying. Is this a designed choice? Otherwise a nice little take on the falling ball type games.

Gtron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

Game does not support OSX 10.10, so I couldn't play :(
I'm not sure if it's because you're using libraries that require 10.11 or because of build settings shenanigans, since Xcode is really good at causing problems like this with arcane build options.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Pretty nice game. Controls are a bit funky. As for the art style I find it weird that you've chosen two different styles. Pixel background and actual graphics for game elements? That's just personnal opinion though, the game is good

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

@Gtron I updated to be 10.10 compatible, thanks for noting that.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

@Kakureta - the actual game elements are pixel graphics too, its just too small to see (dumb)

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

I like the graphics! Good job!
But it requires three buttons and only the score is growing.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Simple, but I enjoyed it. And I like the art a lot!

BEEEEEESSSSSSSS...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Very pretty game, but controls could use some work.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

No Windows or web? :(

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Shame it's OSX only, the art style looks very nice.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Are you going to make a windows or web version? The screenshots are very intriguing :-)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24am

Cool little game, simple mechanics. Well done.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Hey cool little game. Maybe next prosuction could be made cross platform to get to windows users.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]