Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Acrodog

by dvdfu - Compo Entry

Tilt the stage to help your stunt dog "Lil Houndini" stay in the spotlight and wow the audience! The audience may get irritated if Houndini stays in the dark for too long. Also, there are be giant beach balls.

Z and M keys tilt the stage, making Lil Houndini run left and right or jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#5Fun4.30
#6Overall4.34
#10Audio4.27
#11Graphics4.52
#14Humor4.04
#22Innovation4.17
#30Mood4.09
#59Theme4.29

Comments

PachowStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:48am

Put this thing on mobile. You literally don't even need to change anything. Just add touch controls and I could see it being extremely popular!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51am

This is so fun and cute! Also really (too?) hard.
I did 17:86 on my best run

My compo:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

Really great game. The art and music is so perfect. I managed to get 24:20. Really nice job.

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

This is amazing! Put it on Steam!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15am

Nice idea and very well executed! I agree that it is too difficult though which takes away a bit of the fun for me. Too many thinks feel like I have no chance to react to them in time. Love the graphics and the mood!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Gorgeous visuals and a really original concept. I found it to be.. well, basically, incredibly difficult. The best I could do was about 15 seconds or so. I would imagine that if someone could get really good at this game it would look to someone watching like the player had magic powers which is usually a good sign for me.

I'd be great if there was a way to gradually ramp the difficulty a little but I can't even begin to imagine how you'd do that! :)

dvdfu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

@hexagore 15 seconds is the sweetspot I expect most people to get! It is quite hard, I admit. But it's also tweakable. Thanks for the feedback!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

I agree. Get this on mobile, I would play the shit out of it while waiting for the bus! Best game I've come across yet!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25am

Wow I am incredibly impressed!!! This game is so much fun. It feels really good, I love the music, and the puppy is just absolutely adorable! The style is really strong and gosh I just love it so much. I wish there were some in game goals. I got up to 47 seconds so far! I'm going back go playing it... I want to get a full minute! :D

Seriously amazing job. <3

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Pretty neat! Love puppy!!

Komradus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Fantastic entry. I was quite excited to play this when I first saw your post on the LD board. And I'm really impressed.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Wow this is awesome!
Very cool idea, and very nice graphics and sound!
I love how the stage really has weight to it.
Well done how the music changes when you're not in the light.
Really well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

This is my favorite game so far. Want to give more stars but can't. That puppy is so sparkly!

uncade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I absolutely loved this game! Having a tomato hit to end the game instead of just having the timer run out was a nice touch. I'd love to see a mobile version.

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

marvellous two-button game. dog is really cute, very good sounds and visual effects. difficult to keep myself from flinging the pup off the sides.

wine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Cute visuals, fun gameplay, neat realisation
Love it! :)

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Incredible. This would make a killing on mobile! Maybe a little too hard but thats an easy fix. I love (get it) the style and the music crossfade is a wonderful touch.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

Highscore: 27:09

Your game is really amazing!

Very original idea, funny and so cute!

I laught so much making the dog flip in the air :D

Excelent work, "Lil Houndini" got my audience for many minutes!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:00am

Great stuff! One of the strongest entries I've played so far - tons of polish and a good challenge.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41am

One of the best compo submissions I've seen! I love everything about it, it's fun, looks good, sounds good and is extremely challenging! It's a simple idea executed very well, great job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56am

Hard but fun, creative idea, great style!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Beautiful graphics, fun gameplay. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

Yamzho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Encore !

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Wow, that's a great idea on 2 buttons! I could get addicted with this.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:07pm

That was a really fun little game! Thank you!

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Well, if this isn't the hardest thing I've ever played. Everything about this is wonderful, except maybe my perceived difficulty of keeping the dog in the damn lime light. Very well made.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Great entry! The gameplay was a bit challenging to master at first, but it wasn't necessarily a problem. Feels quite polished and finished, great job!

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Loved it! You did a good job, congratz!

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Simple, fun and challenging. Nice Work!

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This is so lovely! One of the best I've played so far. It's just so fun, but hard. The thing is: this game has so much potential, with just some minor changes. If I may suggest one:
- The tomatoes are hard to avoid, especially when about 19 are thrown. And you never know when they come. my suggestion is to keep them in the game, but make it more like a punishment for not staying in the light. Then at least you know why tomatoes are thrown at you.

Overall this was sick!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Bit difficult but I couldn't stop smiling playing it.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43pm

@CrownCity actually, that is EXACTLY what the tomatoes are for! They're only thrown when you don't stand in the light for over 2 seconds. Thanks for the feedback though, greatly appreciated :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Ha Ha this puppy is so cute, even with tomato juice on face...
This game made me laught, and just for that, very thank you !

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Brilliant idea and very well executed. He's just too cute!

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

Perfect! Exactly the game I hoped for when submitted "two button controls" theme :)

OttersDen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:50am

Please put this on my phone. Please.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really funny game! It make me laugh :) Congrats!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:36pm

cute game, very funny and creative. Also beautiful graphics, well done

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:08am

AH! Love it! You nailed the gameplay spot on, and polished the game quite well. I only wish it saved the high score, haha. You MUST finish it up and release for mobile ;D

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40am

Good game! I love this art!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:06am

One of the most polished I've played so far! Great art and mechanics, and I'm enamored with this little ragtime tune. But I'm really a fan of the toy-piano version that comes in when you're not lit. Awesome musically, and great little design choice. I'm proud of the 40 seconds I managed after enough tries. The key is lowering both sides in the right situations! I think?

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:40pm

THIS IS DEADLY CUTE!
my cute aggression is satisfied lol.
And the gameplay is nice, really challenging to me, repeating with fun!

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Really adorable, great use of physics!

domo_demo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:36am

very cute little game :) nice graphics and animation! well done!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:21pm

A funny and interesting take on the theme. I think the way you control the bar is quite original and fun, but I found the light to move way too fast and too randomly to allow for any fine control. It would be great if you had to do some specific exercise, like jumping in a specific pattern.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Gave this full marks.. Incredible. Love it. Keeping on my desktop for future games!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Very cute game. I loved it! :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I love this, very simple and clear, and it's always nice when an ld game makes me lose half an hour trying for a highscore. would totally play this on mobile too!

5 stars for cute :3

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Really good game with slick controls. The audio was great too.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Man this game is hard. But it's fun and cute so I still want to keep playing. =]

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

This was a cool idea with great graphics and sound, and some nice touches. I liked the way the music begins to fade out when you aren't in the spotlight, and the tomatoes are great.

The indirect control over the dog was a cool premise, it was just enough to feel I had agency but difficult enough that I screwed up and threw myself off many times. In a good way.

Well done!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Brilliant idea, so fun and addictive. The only thing I think it needs is finer control over releasing each side of the platform - but that would probably require abandoning the two button controls! Excellent entry all-round anyway.

crazya02 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

oh god this game is adorable

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Funny game, really! Mechanic is cool and game purpose pretty interesting! Like it =)

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:41am

Great entry! simple and charming :)

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:55pm

You've been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMqbWKLhbQs

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:58pm

In addition to being aggressively cute, this game is super addictive -- my best time currently is only slightly under 24 seconds, but I've been playing for a while now! Awesome job with such an original concept.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I got to 37.14 on my first try. Amazing game, very fun and addictive!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:37am

I liked the animations of the dog! they were super cute. and the sparkles when you were in the spotlight! the music was also really nice. it took a little while to get a hang of the controls, i found often i accidentally held the button too long when i wanted a short tap, and he went flying!

gregtruc says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Everything has already been said. Really nice.

Beavl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Wow, love Acrodog. Indirect controlling Little Houdine feels great (tip: both Z and M to control Acrodog in Y axis without risking going out of bounds!). This entry is amazing, game balance is really top notch. Congrats on it!

Ellian says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:35pm

You have something here! You could turn that into a mobile game pretty easily and it'd be amazing!

Either, it's a really great game. Simple and efficient idea, and amazing execution. Congrats!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:28am

One of my top 5 entries for sure! Loved it! Such a great concept, mechanic, idea, etc. Love that it's a dog too. So cool! Awesome game! Congrats! c:

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:17am

This entry is cheating! How could anyone not like Lil Houdini?

Easily one of the top games for me. Everything just fits too well.

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:29am

A little bit hard but so lovely, art, music and this dog <3

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:59am

This is genius

jorori95 says ...
Feb 4, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Put this in android!! Please!! You are a genius!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]