Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stardust

by Aaranos - Jam Entry

Stardust! From the small particles of dust that flow around each other and slowly compact comes forth the growth of a new star. Not every speck of dust can work its way up to being a star, but maybe you can.

Controls:
Left arrow to steer left
Right arrow to steer right

Bugs:
v1.0 - First post around 8:54PM Dec 14
- Once you get to about asteroid mass your screen gets so big it makes objects not spawn anymore because they are too far away from the player. I will fix soon.
- Once you get smacked by an object it becomes hard to control, really not sure on this one other than it is related to collisions and gravity set to 0.

V1.1 Fixes around 9:30PM Dec 14
- Fixed distance/scale problem by modifying how far enemy can be before removed
- Adjusted enemy spawn limit because field is barren

V1.2 Post-Jam

- Added some object size randomization

- Added an indicator for direction

- Added X, Y, and Category for cool information about your space object

- Tweaked speed to increase as you get bigger

Planned Updates:
- Parallax background
- Glow as you start to get star size
- Gravitational pull
- Fix the awful collision bug that makes control hard
- Fix minor bugs related to object reference
- Add additional objects
- Add different obstacles
- Add Objectives?
- Make better music
- Explosion animations and sounds
- Particle trail for player

Post-Jam V1.3 Files
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B-ZNSkiROWFANXY1LTJBczYzX0k&usp=sharing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#705Audio(Jam)2.11
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#824Humor(Jam)1.89
#912Innovation(Jam)2.45
#979Graphics(Jam)2.20
#984Mood(Jam)2.20
#1041Fun(Jam)2.28
#1068Overall(Jam)2.49

Comments

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

In the beginning it was kinda hard to figure out what was going on, because there are no reference points (Background) there is no real sense of direction, at least I found.
A direction marker would have been helpful.

But after I figured out how to navigate, I liked it :D

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10am

Nice idea, it's a little hard to figure out where you are however.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19am

Fun concept, but I do agree with the other reviews, it's a bit hard to track where you are. Needs some kind of star background, but it's pretty good when you get used to it :).

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:02am

Unfortunately I couldn't really get the hang of the controls; it was hard to know which way I was going.
But I like the concept! It's actually the same name and very similar concept to one of my games (http://deathraygames.com/play-online/stardust/)

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:36am

Reminds me of http://agar.io/

It was hard to see which direction you were traveling until something else appeared onscreen.

maartene says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I don't really get it. Doesn't really seem to work (Web build / Safari / OSX).

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:40pm

"I'm feelin' right, music sounds better with you..." (I hope someone gets that reference so that I don't look like a complete idiot)

Well done, nice little take on the theme however it was very challenging. At first I thought you had to dodge the little circles :P Good work :D

dlowe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Thanks for the game :)

Zenol says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

+1 for a star background, but once you understand how you are moving it's getting fun :)

Btw, the linux build works.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Interesting take on the theme. Adding stars or other background elements would go along way toward letting the player where they are and where they're going.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

@Zenol, thanks for letting me know ^^

narve says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

I couldn't tell where I was going, and it was really hard to control for me

adsilcott says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Great idea for the theme! It was confusing at first, but it was cool eating planets and stars later.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:20am

That was a tough game, I read some of the updates you want to do, sounds like you're heading in the right direction. Was that a real bass playing?

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:26am

Great concept, not very innovative though, Reminds me of Spore. It really needed some background with parallax to me, I was a bit lost at first! Great Game!

Btw, I've tested your OS X build, works fine!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:23am

You need to have better music. The music loop is Hong Kong 97-level kind of annoying.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Cool game. And the linux build does work, but I feel I should let you know that the web player version (i.e. post compo version) does NOT work on linux.. so as much as I'd like to play the web version because I see you've implemented a few of the recommendations I thought of (i.e. speed increase) I can't because Unity is being lazy when it comes to linux web player development... Don't know if we'll ever get it or not.

I can also see that some of the other things I thought of are on your todo list.. that's good. :)

Anyways, the game is really cool.. though once I got to 60000 score it became too slow to play on the 1.1 version.. I don't know if this was intentional, but as you got bigger it'd be cool if your icon changed as well. So when you reached meteor size you looked like a meteor, etc.

Lastly.. I don't know what "star size" is as I don't recall seeing any stars.. unless one of those planet looking things were stars. :P

And don't let know one put you down for the music.. I liked it. :P

Aaranos says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

@Scipio, I was being lazy and didn't want to rebuild every version. Since there is actually an interest I see I should of just taken the time to do so.

Thanks for the long comment and suggestions. I definitely plan to overhaul even more stuff and as I type this I am sitting on V1.3 which has parallax background and some minor fixes.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:46am

good game, well done :)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:17am

this would be a good game bbut it was really poorly executed. even the post jam version. try to use physics to move around. and also, there's no need for player to move around in this kind of game. instead of trail renderer use particle system and play with it a bit more

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:50pm

I was able to become a pretty large sun, but then I couldn't find anymore stuff to get. :P
Sometimes I noticed that you'd start spinning really strangely though?

Mikaza says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:08am

Nice idea :)

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:04am

Miss waypoints, the black background without changing seems to say sometimes that you are not moving. Ignoring this, the mood is nice and audio decent. So nice work.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Played your non-compo version as well as the LD version, I love the addition of the stars and space dust. Really adds a lot to the depth and helps me feel like I'm in a space, not just flat on the screen. I found it was tough to catch those little dots, they flew by pretty quickly!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]