Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Chicken Quest

by Gtron - Jam Entry

Help Smoosh the Dragon get the delicious, delicious chicken! Rotate the maze using the left and right arrows.

Infinite Chicken Quest is a procedurally generated maze in which your goal is to find all of the pieces of chicken. Finding them takes you to the next level. The game saves the player's current level as well as a random seed, so if you come back to the game later, your progress will be there, and you'll be looking at the same maze!

Lead Programmer - Wade Shepardson
Lead Artist, Musician, Sound Designer - Gregor Armstrong

Made using Unity3d, MonoDevelop, Photoshop, Illustrator, Logic Pro, bfxr, git, and Bitbucket.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#416Humor(Jam)2.81
#533Audio(Jam)2.96
#704Theme(Jam)3.46
#740Innovation(Jam)2.79
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#811Graphics(Jam)2.84
#812Mood(Jam)2.76
#931Overall(Jam)2.80

Comments

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Neat game, but I was a little disoriented by the jittery controls and the shaking camera.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Fun concept, but the procedural generation of levels seems to hinder more than it helps. The second level I got on my first playthrough was unbeatable. The controls are hard to really gauge - The arrow keys don't seem to rotate the maze as I'd originally thought, but some combination of applying force to the dragon and spinning the map.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Cute game. It was quite fun, but there are some strange (realistic?) physics that made the game a bit wonkiness. First I found it possible to get the dragon fast enough to launch through a wall on the outer ring. Additionally, it seemed like the dragon was very heavy and caused the wheel to turn when laying on an edge.

In the end I could only get to level 11. It was very difficult to get the dragon into a gap above above the player where you couldn't roll around an edge; the dragon would just whip too fast in the opposite direction.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08am

The physics where odd, the graphics where nice. Pretty good!

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26am

It was a nice game that would have been better had the controls been more manageable. It is awesome that you did procedural generation for the mazes.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31am

Cool game! Screen shake was a bit too much for me, otherwise it was very fun!

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16am

Not a fan of these kinds of games, but the peculiarity of the physics made things a bit more interesting.

Wouldn't have guessed that the levels were procedurally generated - the difficulty seemed to scale pretty consistently. Well done there.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:24am

Interesting game, but gravity was being really weird. I would fall up or sideways.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:16pm

First Unity game I've tried during this LD that has worked perfectly for me on Linux :P
Fun concept, but the physics are *really* weird.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:00pm

The physics seems to be... strange. But music is nice and dragon is funny =)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:02am

the controls needed some work but i like the concept - it would have helped to also have another obstacle or some kind of trap to make it harder - nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]