Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ScaleFlexes

by ansoneh - Jam Entry

ScaleFlexes is a very simple, arcade-style game. The A and D keys control scaling (growing and shrinking) of the player circle. The object is to be bigger than red circles and smaller than green, otherwise things explode.

Made in a couple hours using Unity. This is my first Ludum Dare entry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#273Theme(Jam)3.95
#328Innovation(Jam)3.39
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#427Overall(Jam)3.41
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03
#753Mood(Jam)2.92

Comments

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

A very original aproach, it has a very challenging difficult, but once i played it a few times, there was no novelty or extra thing to keep me playing it. But, ey, if it was made in a couple hours it's really good!! :D

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Fun and simple entry, but I felt like I never had enough time to react to the incoming circles. The player should change size quicker or the circles should move slower. Or perhaps you could zoom out the camera view a bit to give the player more time to react.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05pm

The furthest I got was 27, it's very difficult! Would be lovely to know what the "dev high score" is :)
The mechanic is very interesting but the execution is a bit lacking. The growing/shrinking is very fast, especially compared to how far you can see and it sometimes feels like that you're just going to lose, no matter what you do. You cannot be both precise enough to shrink very small for the coming green, then grow right back huge for the next massive red, made more difficult by the heavily increased collision area when you grow back.
Still, a bit more vision range and slower change is very easy to do, and easy improvements are the best kind of improvements for a game.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Really nice concept, the game seems to generate a bit of unsolvable transitions (a big and small ball with opposite colours being too close, or hit centre at same time from different angles) which is frustrating..

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03am

Great game! I like this kind of games. My reflex are not as good as I thought it were though! Congrats! I had fun playing it!

ansoneh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

Thanks guys! I'll definitely fix some of those issues after the jam is over. I'll probably add in some more mechanics as well to change things up a bit.

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37am

Really liked it! Graphics were simple but very appealing. The game was also very challenging but fun.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:07am

Nice use of the theme. Awesome aesthetic, everything ties together very nicely. I wish I could give you credit for the music, it makes the game feel perfect. Overall very solid entry, congrats!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15am

You should publish a web version of this (Unity supports it, especially with small game)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Definitely a cool and well polished game, especially for a couple hours. Feels in a similar type to Super Hexagon, games that have me going back for just "one more round".

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55am

Original concept. But it's hard attach big/small to green/red...

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:40pm

original idea)

ansoneh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:39am

Added a WebGL version!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:02am

I liked it. However, it seemed a bit unfair with a small green followed by a big red. Couple ideas: Make the circles appear with the beat of the song, that would possibly give the player more ability to predict what is going on. You could also give indicators of what colors were coming from where so you had a little more warning. Make big circles travel slower than small ones, this is because big circles collide with you much faster than small circles. Maybe you did that already, but not enough?

Last idea is to make the play field circular, this makes more sense as well as evens out the reaction time needed no matter where the circles come from.

ansoneh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31am

Thanks for the ideas! I've noticed those issues and I'll definitely do what I can to fix them.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Neat concept and great use of the theme!

teamross says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Really good!
I like the concept a lot.
Simple, clean and fun! Good job ^^

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:04am

Excellent game! Very difficult, but not unfairly so. From time to time there would be a red followed by a green where there simply wasn't time to scale correctly, but apart from that it was a very unique and enjoyable experience! My high score was only 21.

dlowe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Thanks for the game :)

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really great idea. I could see this working very well as a mobile game like Super Hexagon with half of screen scaling up and other half scaling down. I did however find the generated sizes far too random and in some cases completely impossible. Starting at a slower rate and increasing over time would have helped too, quite a few times I died after only 2-3 seconds because a large red was followed immediately by a small green which was very hard to see coming. This lead to the tactic of always being small unless you know red was coming to give you as much time to react as possible.

Fun though. Very fun :D

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Wow; this is surprisingly fun for how simple the concept was. Seriously I played this one more than aot of games with far more mechanics. A very stripped down idea with no extra bells and whistles sometimes makes for very entertaining and engaging content.

juxipolo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I feel like I hit a spot where there wasn't enough time to expand enough between a green and red.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Nice game! Pretty hard - as other have mentioned, it would be better if the camera was larger, but very well done, I enjoyed playing this.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Neat idea, nice visuals.
It was a bit too hard for me though, I found that i had often shrunk down for a small green circle, and then had a very short amount of time to grow very large for a big red circle, it was almost impossible to grow that much in the short amount of time!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Nice entry! The gameplay is nervous and addictive. I just wish the ennemies could be less close to each other because I have the feeling that something, you avoid to loose. Apart from that, I really like it! Good job ;)

XenosNS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Hard but interesting idea.

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I think a huge red right after a tiny green is not always possible to pass. You should have some check that the combination is always possible to complete.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Fun, but sometimes it feels impossible, like it's literally impossible to grow or shrink fast enough.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]