Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hopeless Planet

by korvyashka - Jam Entry

Hello,

We decided to create our game around growing theme.

Lore:
We failed to attach video to unity - so here is link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zsIGDcXWo8

We were moving trough space and occasionally our ship was broken and we had to land on far away planet. Our spacesuit was almost broken too and all we was able to do is find some strange egg on a planet.


What you need to do:
1) Creature can eat - feed him with LEFT click on resource
2) You must eat or you will die - eat with RIGHT click on resource
3) You can send you creature to tasks on the right - it might return with resources.
4) There are attributes of creature to the left - it affects on chances of tasks.
!! Right click on resource makes human eat it, while left click will give it to creature.

Tip: try to feed pet with different resources - this is the only way to survive on this planet.
We've added webgl build.

Team:
Vladislav(korvyashka): programmer.
Igor(DreadCorsair): programmer.
Aleksey(ABAmvrosov): programmer.
Slava(crowdel): 2d artist.
Yury Klerk: Musician.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#152Mood(Jam)3.74
#179Audio(Jam)3.62
#259Graphics(Jam)3.92
#308Innovation(Jam)3.42
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#757Theme(Jam)3.38
#766Humor(Jam)2.13
#868Fun(Jam)2.69

Comments

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40am

Great audio effect and gameplay!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42am

I really love this idea, feeding the pet to give him stats and then sending him to hunt for stuff. It's a little like a super-fast turn based version of Fallout Shelter's exploring. Lots of potential here!

For this jam version, I found it pretty hard. Not knowing what will hurt you or harm you was painful trial and error (eating pet shit gives you HP but eating a mushroom hurts you?). When the pet comes back with nothing after 4 days and you picked the best % chance, it feels like a slap in the face :(

Still, great potential and with a little more communication and balancing it could be really really good

davidB says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Good Audio, but control and feedback (pointer, popup) could be improved, I didn't really understood what I did.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:48pm

With some polishing and more detailed gameplay feedback this could be a post-compo version worth :D ..

Zener says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:40am

The screenshot catched my eye and then I wasn't disappointed, it was the exact kind of game I expected to find! I love the idea and the atmosphere! Just a bit more UX work (like making the numbers bigger) and maybe little easier start and it would be even ever. Congrats!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Good mood with the music, sfx and main UI screen. The font-size could have been a bit bigger as the anti-aliasing makes the text hard to read at these sizes.

On one hand, if you add a simple tutorial to this it might be a bit more intelligible from the start, but right now it does work in that you truly are in a place where you don't know how anything works, nice!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

UI text definitely needs to be more clearer and larger but I really liked how not only you have to take care of your creature, you also have yourself to take care of as well.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:09am

Fantastic ambient music, beautifully simple graphics, and a nice concept, pretty difficult to survive, and very dark if you lose :(

Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

I like a lot the ost and the mood of the game. The pet is really creepy, that is good. Really nice entry, with some balance and less random, the game would be great.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:21am

Interesting game idea and good graphics, you managed to create a very atmospheric game. But the gameplay seems too random to me at the moment and I wish you had included a fullscreen mode to have bigger text. The video on youtube has no sound, that seems odd to me.

yhsper says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Interesting entry! Loved the spaceship GUI and the sound, very nice!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:09pm

good work! well done, I hope you continue working on this:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]