Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two buttons planting game

by Genpaku - Compo Entry

You need to help your xmass tree grow.

Use SPACE to water the plant and MOUSE to kill enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#559Humor2.21
#625Theme3.55
#655Audio2.07
#791Mood2.41
#901Graphics1.73
#929Innovation1.93
#935Fun2.14
#958Overall2.21

Comments

lonewookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

Nice game, kind of repetitive though.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Cool idea, just not the best graphics

Genpaku says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Yea i know Kuality Games ;) i'm awful drawer

Deineri says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58pm

The clicking gets tiring really fast. I think the enemies could´ve been more Xmas themed too.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08pm

The enemies have way too much health. It takes dozens of clicks to take them down.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

omg omg omg between the graphics made with Paint and the sound when you loose <3 It's just fantastic ;)

btw, I ended up stuck in an infinite loop "U loose" > *presses start* > game screen flashes > "U loose" > *presses start*, probably the game figured out I was a looser and made me loose auto-magically ;) ?

Anyway, funniest game I've played so far, those graphics were just so cute ;)

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

oh damn, forgot to vote :/ Here you go sir: 4 for Humor and 4 for the mood, you made me smile ;)

Genpaku says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:17pm

hahaha thx ddr2, yea i figure that out, you cant play again when you loose :/ thats a little bug :/ sorry

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Such a happy little Christmas tree. :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:34am

It is quite repatative and chalengeless, maybe if you add some more gameplay elements it could be fun.

Genpaku says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:37pm

i can add some elements after LudumDare

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

FIRST GAME WITH XMAS AUDIO I'VE PLAYED! :D Nice little game, though could use a bit more work on audio/graphics. Overall not bad for a compo entry.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice compo. I wish ennemies could have less life, but there are more to come. Graphics are funny! Good job ;)

gallerdude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:08pm

yay merry christmas. Fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]