Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Button Gardening

by freddyw9 - Compo Entry

I didn't have nearly 48 hours to devote to this so I put together an admittedly pretty narrow game. I took the concept of those old water toys that had two buttons and rather than squirting a basket ball through a hoop this game pushes water drops into a flower pot. This way I covered both themes.

Seeing as I am no artist and I did this alone, I made all of the art with the kids crayons, please be gentle judging my efforts.

I quickly recorded the background music and button click audio, sorry for the string noise :)

Next time I am going to try to get more of the team involved but this was a fun exercise for my first attempt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#109Theme4.17
#140Audio3.49
#229Graphics3.61
#242Mood3.34
#498Innovation3.13
#510Overall3.20
#607Humor2.06
#661Fun2.91

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

Fun ;)

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

More of a toy than a real game, but still enjoyable! I would have liked it if it didn't run a bit slow (average 15 fps) but then again maybe it's my piece of garbage computer acting up. Either way good job on this!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

Music is nice, and I like the kid's coloring book style.

The negative/decreasing score was a bit frustrating; a "time bonus" would be an alternative way of deducting points from the player while keeping the score positive.

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

Fun little physics game. You made what you set out to make, and I can appreciate it.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

Nicely done! Great music - sets the mood well.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Nice! real dose of nostalgia! My best score was only 20 though. :D

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I like that you've hand drawn the graphics and played guitar for the soundtrack. Unique antique

jacobturn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

good

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Fun and short game, very pretty. Had fun playing it, especially because this game is winnable and those old toys were practically impossible xD

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

nice, cute and creative, reminds me of those handhelds with water and rings. well done

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I really really love this, awesome idea and very unique! Lovely controls and theme.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

220 points. I put my petals to the metal.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Cool! Hard to master a positive score. Mine was -820
Loved the art style!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

I love the art :D It's a nice game. Good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

The crayon art visuals makes for a very unique and creative style. Nice first attempt.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Considering everything, it's a really nice little game. I played before reading the description and still felt like it was one of those water toys so you probably did good |3
Now to try and get a positive score haha

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Fun variant of the water blowing game everyone had as a kid :)
The guitar music is really calming, love it.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:53am

It was like a variation on pinball.

Got a score of 80 the first time around.

Liked the idea.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:41am

Wish it was longer!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Simple game with a frustrating difficulty. I managed to get this score though. http://i.imgur.com/6pWEr72.png

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Hey liked the ambiance into the game.

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:34am

This game is adorable, I really liked it's style. It really stands out against all the other entries here.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Cool mix of two themes. Fun gamplay, lovely music, but honestly the "finger" sound of pushing the buttons is pissing me off!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Great feel to it! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]