Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Wheel

by BeardyBard - Jam Entry

-- Roll through endless dungeon! --

In this game you will fight your foes by rolling The Dungeon Wheel.
The Wheel have 8 slots with random Actions.

Each turn you will activate random action. After that your foe will activate Action on an opposite side of The Wheel.

-- Controls --
z - Reroll The Wheel and use random action
x - Use selected action

-- Credits --

Code:
A. Kovalev aka Nomit
M. Ivanov aka Dagger
A. Lutay

Sound:
M. Ivanov aka Dagger
A. Lutay


Graphics:
A. Lutay

Special thanks to Alexander Kungurov

-- Feedback --
Please contact as at thebeardybard@gmail.com and twitter.com/beardybard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Innovation(Jam)4.04
#61Graphics(Jam)4.46
#115Overall(Jam)3.83
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#262Mood(Jam)3.54
#278Fun(Jam)3.46
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Really clever! I liked keeping on a roll that was not ideal for the enemy.

Regardless, I didn't prepare well for the Rat-King. The roguelike elements were sweet.

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

totally awesome, I'm really enjoying games in this style and this certainly pleased me greatly :3

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I enjoyed the game, and really liked the idea for the wheel combat. That was very interesting, it took a bit to get the hang of what exactly was going on - kept focused on the pointer on the monster for some reason. :( Once I got it, was really fun game - played quite a few levels (liked the random "level" up screens also!)

Verrazano says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

It was interesting but the spinner could have been spinnyer. :)

JD557 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Fun game.

A bit frustrating at times, when rerolling does nothing.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Fun game, well done.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

A pretty simple and clever mechanic with great graphics!
I felt that the game could use a bit more depth beyond rats and their king, but that's a small complaint. Wonderful post-compo possibilities await!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44pm

This game could become much more with some extra dev. Well done. The graphics are awesome.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Wow! I love this. The music is a bit too calm in my opinion, but the art and design are amazing. Very original. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Great idea. It took me a second to realize the other side of the wheel was the enemies action. But everything about this looks fantastic.

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56pm

A clever idea. I wish the wheel turn animation was faster so that I could fly through battles as the game became I bit monotonous. Pixel art and animations are on point. It would be cool if I could set my wheel slots or something to mod my character's actions. Imagine if this game had skills and spells that you could put in your wheel slots! It became frustrating to never get defense + when I was rolling for character growth--I was limited to 2 the entire game and this made defense+ worthless. Anyway, nice work and great level of polish.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nice! Well executed and has some great polish.

It's an interesting mechanic, but I felt like it got stale a little quickly. There is almost always a "correct" choice - only occasionally, when both you and the enemy are getting a powerup, do you have to pause to consider your next action. I think small tweaks that would improve it would be to either make the roll button toggle a little 'power' minigame (so that the intensity of the roll was dependant on how you press/release) or to let players press a button to try to stop the spinner early. Either of those would adhere to the theme and attach a stronger sense of agency to the gameplay.

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Loved it ! Unfortunately the rat king slaughtered me :(

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Great game! Awesome idea and really good graphics. Got to level 21 with 2 bosses killed. :)

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Pretty fun idea. Not sure how long the game is but after I killed the rat king it start to slow right down. I think the game needs something else for the user to do — as spinning/keeping the wheel is just too close to what you might get if you just watched it as a simulation. Maybe an item shop in the upgrade levels? Maybe have the monsters drop items too? Something like that would bring the replayability right up.

architect404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26pm

nice game! cool concept, well executed and great art. I was foiled by the rat king but I enjoyed myself! good job

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Cool idea, works well with the restriction of two buttons. Those pixels look nice, too. Gameplay feels a bit slow, and the random element has perhaps too much weight, but in general it's a nice game.

sydan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

The mechanics in this game are awesome. However I got to the point where I could not do any damage to an enemy at all on a certain spinner and now I'm just stuck :( he has 5 shield and I have 4 attack. I think attacks should always do at least 1 damage to avoid that problem.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12am

Sweet simple game which was quick and easy to learn. It looks beautiful However it lacks depth, which i will agree is hard to achieve in a 48 hour competition. Good Luck!

zatch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18am

Really solid entry! Very straight forward, fun, and challenging. Will share this one with my friends. :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Stellar art and interesting gameplay! Far too random, though, but I appreciate the ability to choose when to stay and roll.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Random combat is evil. But good presentation makes me stay until I die. Randomly. :P

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:16am

Great art work, and interesting mechanic. Nicely done.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Interesting concept. The game is far too easy though. The upgrades you get outscale the difficulty pretty hard. I had fights where 7 attack rats were trying to peirce my 20 armor. I only had to stop when I got stuck in a fight where neither of us could damage each other and there was no armor-down on the wheel. Without that bug, I probably could have gone forever without much effort.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Very great! Good work with polishing, it looks great :)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Great Jam entry, guys! Great graphics, immersive gameplay. Thanks!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Great concept, very innovative, nice art and cool animations! But I think the actions was too luck based, you could have some special that improve your luck to get a critical in the next move and the game runs too slow.
Great game, awesome job!

Beavl says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Solid entry! There are some balancing issues but the idea, graphics, gameplay and sound feel really, really good. Congrats on this (and make it a full game!)

Note: We love RNGs roguelikes, that's why we've made faif! Cheers from Argentina.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Very well made game! Only real problem I had was that it's a bit too easy. Almost always had full hp and armor.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:54pm

A really interesting idea! I thought it would be boring at first but it got more fun and even a little strategic as it went on. Also great graphics!

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I liked it a lot! I reached lvl 33

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Very new and interesting.
Keeping is maybe the best part of the game.
Stupid rats...

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:26pm

1 boss, 11 levels
I liked the idea of gameplay and really liked the graphics
But honestly gameplay is a little bit boring from the beginning
I think it needs to be faster and more strategic than random
Anyway, great entry

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Fun and beautiful game. Would have been good if it was less... random. I played for a while, but had to give up when I no longer could do any damage. Maybe you could sacrifice something (health or armour) to get a new wheel, or something.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great concept that could be taken to much further. Had a fight where no damage could be done. Exactly 50/50 of damage/heal symbols. Too high armor to for me or the rat to lose any health without healing it immmidietly. O_O

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:51pm

The only issue I have with the game is that animations take too long. This is bad with games that have repetitive tasks.

Other than that, it's a great little game.
Well done.

kabel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Graphics are nice, and the gameplay is very simple, but solid. It's good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]