Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Elevacuum

by crazya02 - Compo Entry

Fits both Growing and Two Button Controls themes.

Move up and down and absorb black dots! Taking one will make you grow larger and give you some points!

But beware of white dots, which lower your score!

Diamonds will return you to your original size!

The bigger you are, the more points you get from black dots, but the greater the risk of hitting white dots!

There is no failure condition and a single playthrough is quite short, but there is longevity in the form of scoring as high as possible! How will you match up? Post your score in the comments below!

Engine is Unity 5.3, music and sound effects made with Renoise, sprites made with paint.net, font is SwissSans (http://tolp2.nl/forum/index.php?topic=382.msg8639#msg8639).

v1.1
* Removed rigidbodies from dots and diamonds, providing a big performance boost without affecting gameplay
* Fixed diamond hitbox being too small
* Diamonds in the Windows version are now colored black for consistency with the browser verson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#203Fun3.56
#206Overall3.61
#218Theme4.03
#219Audio3.22
#323Innovation3.40
#325Mood3.20
#526Graphics3.00
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39am

Simple but awesome, i like it.

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13am

I like the mechanics! Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

It's great, but why does it just randomly end? I was expecting it to last for a while

Dust Cloud says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Simple but it works also didn't have any audio device available to listen to the audio :( so gave a n/a

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

It's a cool idea, and it's simple. However, the game is pretty laggy sometimes.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Great game - had a lot of fun - well executed and good integation of tutorial.
Had one issue using up and down caused the web page to scroll up and down - solved by using w and s to move.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

had fun with this game. was sad when it ended a bit too quickly.

Luxorix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Good

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:19am

Nice and simple, great job!:)

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Very attractive! I wish the game was longer ^_^
Good luck!

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Nice mechanics, well executed game - good job!

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:50pm

The game should keep going, not cut off randomly.

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Cool graphics :)

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

You don't see a lot of games with both a high score and no random elements.

I kinda like it though, it makes getting the highest possible score more of a puzzle than a skill test, and that's really cool. I think I got it too. 1132, right?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Had a few issues with up and down controls wanting to scroll the page, but fixed that with entering fullscreen. The mechanics were simple enough to pick up, but it felt a little underdeveloped, and the slipperiness of the controls were a slight inconvenience. The difficulty didn't really pick up at all, and it ended unexpectedly. The audio, however, was stellar. Overall a competent, fun game, but I wish it had more content.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:22am

Very clever use of type. As an instrucitonal designer my by day job, I love when a game tutorializes itself naturally, and gives you the opportunity to try a mechanic immediately after learning about it, then shows you how to use it in unexpected ways (in the example of your game, skipping the diamond to earn more points).

My only complaint is that it's a little short!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

This is good fun - it'd be nice if it was a bit longer, but having it be a score challenge rather than an endless/random thing was a nice twist.

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]