Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A failed experiment

by K1llercake - Jam Entry

Kinda made for LD34. Kinda because I didn't feel like finishing, hence the quick ending.

The good part about it is you can use your imagination for a story or something!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#644Audio(Jam)2.58
#730Humor(Jam)2.22
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#893Graphics(Jam)2.55
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Jordan Kniest says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Error 404: Not found

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I've gotten an error as well.

TripleW says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14am

Error 404 :(

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36am

Same, 404.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38am

404 :/

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40am

Error 404. Would love to play but I don't even see it on your profile. (Did you forget to set the game to public?)

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44am

404 error.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44am

404: Not Found! :-(

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15am

Not found.. :(

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17am

404 as well. :(

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

Error

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Still 404

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

This was the next on my list to rate, but the link is 404ing.

K1llercake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Woops! The game was set to private in itch.io. Fixed now ^^

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

This is an nice puzzle game.

I encountered a bug where the grow sound keeps looping if you die when you're growing.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Nice game. You could expand it further though.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I love it, to short but i love ;)

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice start! I like the idea, sadly you didn't finish the game. I hope you find the willpower to work further on this, because I think there is some potential.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]